Hola from South America.


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
October 4th 2008
Published: October 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Panama airportPanama airportPanama airport

very empty at 1am, everything is shut except the toilets, thank heavens.
Hi to all, the flights from Panama City to Quito via San Jose were pretty uneventfull, apart from losing a nights sleep at Panama airport, because the flight was very early and I had to be there for 3am, so decided to spend the night there.
Said a very sad farewell to Wendy, who left on a flight several hours before mine. (very down).
The planes used by TACA airlines are like new. and put a lot of UK operators to shame.
Quito seems like a very nice place, its clean and not too busy.
The hotel I am in is good, GAP have excelled on this one.
Went out in the evening for a bite to eat and felt very comfortable walking around.
Went out the following morning, (today), and had a look at 2 different markets and some local shops, very nice and very cheap.
Today is look after Kevs feet day, so I had a pedicure, manicure and a shave, this took nearly 2 hours and cost 8 dollars...............guess I should have haggled.
It was very funny in the shop, I have no Spanish, they had no English, they laughed a lot when they realsed what I was
View from planeView from planeView from plane

this I believe is Costa Rica at too early o'clock on my way to San Jose, that nearly rhymed.
in for, so did few customers, cant see why.
Found an earing to replace the one I lost while trying to surf a while back, a nice wild boars tooth, also had two more piercings done today.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Sleeping IndianSleeping Indian
Sleeping Indian

This lokks a little like the sleeping Indian that we climbed at El Valle, dont know if we flew over it or not, curious.
Even the loo has a phoneEven the loo has a phone
Even the loo has a phone

No, not the chrome one.
Another viewAnother view
Another view

see how quiet the streets are, and its mid morning on Saturday.
Self indulgenceSelf indulgence
Self indulgence

me having my feet done, very nice.
A small monument and fountainA small monument and fountain
A small monument and fountain

I came across this on my walk to the market.
MonumentMonument
Monument

Monument into a ig market, full of local produce, this is where I got my Boars tooth, it was a necklace but the stall holder took it apart for me, thats how friendly they are.
EntertainmentEntertainment
Entertainment

very goo pan pipe music outside the market, if you look to the left there is a gold statue, he will make you jump, beware.
Nice churchNice church
Nice church

stck in the middle of the city, very nice.
New earingNew earing
New earing

my new earing and one of my new peircings.............


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb