¡Estoy en Quito, Ecuador!


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
December 20th 2005
Published: December 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well everyone, I have made it here to Quito safe and sound. I arrived yesterday afternoon, and I was incredibly worn-out. My flight left JFK at 5:30 in the morning and was full of screaming babies. Yesterday I didn't do much, just found some food and sacked out in my hotel room. The hotel (La Posada del Maples) is nice and comfy with free internet and breakfast (which was pretty good, it sure trumped the typical motel 6 fare). My room overlooks the tiny courtyard which has a mimosa-like tree in it that is constantly filled with hummingbirds (colibris) and doves (palomas). If only I could figure out which species of the 150 colibris y palomas these are! I have positively identified one bird, the rufous-crowned sparrow which is fairly common on the vegetation-lined side streets.

Today I caught up on my sleep and explored the city a bit. The city is really not terribly big, and it's fairly easy to walk wherever you need to go if you have enough time. I visited the South American Explorers Club. They were very helpful and it's a really nice space to have. I did some research then watched part of a movie with one of the employee's kids. Then I went to purchase my traveling bag (so I can store my big backpack), which wasn't too hard to find, and is oddly enough "made in USA"

Well, I should get going, need to let others use the computer. Just wanted to let you all know that I made it, everyone has been nice and pretty helpful, and I haven't been pickpocketed yet. More exciting entries, hopefully, forthcoming.

Well everyone, I have made it here to Quito safe and sound. I arrived yesterday afternoon, and I was incredibly worn-out. My flight left JFK at 5:30 in the morning and was full of screaming babies. Yesterday I didn't do much, just found some food and sacked out in my hotel room. The hotel (La Posada del Maples) is nice and comfy with free internet and breakfast (which was pretty good, it sure trumped the typical motel 6 fare). My room overlooks the tiny courtyard which has a mimosa-like tree in it that is constantly filled with hummingbirds (colibris) and doves (palomas). If only I could figure out which species of the 150 colibris y palomas these are! I have positively identified one bird, the rufous-crowned sparrow which is fairly common on the vegetation-lined side streets.

Today I caught up on my sleep and explored the city a bit. The city is really not terribly big, and it's fairly easy to walk wherever you need to go if you have enough time. I visited the South American Explorers Club. They were very helpful and it's a really nice space to have. I did some research then watched part of a movie with one of the employee's kids. Then I went to purchase my traveling bag (so I can store my big backpack), which wasn't too hard to find, and is oddly enough "made in USA"

Well, I should get going, need to let others use the computer. Just wanted to let you all know that I made it, everyone has been nice and pretty helpful, and I haven't been pickpocketed yet. More exciting entries, hopefully, forthcoming.

Well everyone, I have made it here to Quito safe and sound. I arrived yesterday afternoon, and I was incredibly worn-out. My flight left JFK at 5:30 in the morning and was full of screaming babies. Yesterday I didn't do much, just found some food and sacked out in my hotel room. The hotel (La Posada del Maples) is nice and comfy with free internet and breakfast (which was pretty good, it sure trumped the typical motel 6 fare). My room overlooks the tiny courtyard which has a mimosa-like tree in it that is constantly filled with hummingbirds (colibris) and doves (palomas). If only I could figure out which species of the 150 colibris y palomas these are! I have positively identified one bird, the rufous-crowned sparrow which is fairly common on the vegetation-lined side streets.

Today I caught up on my sleep and explored the city a bit. The city is really not terribly big, and it's fairly easy to walk wherever you need to go if you have enough time. I visited the South American Explorers Club. They were very helpful and it's a really nice space to have. I did some research then watched part of a movie with one of the employee's kids. Then I went to purchase my traveling bag (so I can store my big backpack), which wasn't too hard to find, and is oddly enough "made in USA"

Well, I should get going, need to let others use the computer. Just wanted to let you all know that I made it, everyone has been nice and pretty helpful, and I haven't been pickpocketed yet. More exciting entries, hopefully, forthcoming.



Advertisement



21st December 2005

Greetings
Becca, Sounds like you are in for a real adventure. Have fun and learn lots! Have a very Merry Christmas. Love, Karla
22nd December 2005

Tell me more!
Becca, Tell us more about the SA Explorer's Club. Is it a "clubhouse" like you might expect in NYC? Are there lodgings there? Remember to relax and enjoy yourself. Look on everything as an adventure.

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb