Chao, Ecuador


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
December 18th 2005
Published: March 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My last day in Ecuador. This past week has been a bit surreal; it's so hard to believe that three months are nearly over. Even though I know that this time tomorrow we'll be on our way home I still can't believe it. Back in September December seemed (as it always does) so far away. There were moments then when I wasn't sure how I was going to survive this trip. Now, in spite of the ever-present language barrier, I carry myself through Ecuador with a great deal more confidence. (Take that statement with a grain of salt, though. When you have zero confidence to begin with, there's -- hopefully -- only one direction to go.)

Back in September it seemed, also, that once December hit I would be completely ready to head back to the States. And while I am looking forward to going home, I'm not nearly as homesick as I thought I would be. During these past few days I've felt really nostalgic, and have tried to absorb as much as I can. I'm going to miss Ecuador -- the people, the sights, the sounds, the fruit, the bouncing from one place to the next. But it is time to head back, because only there can I step back and view this entire experience from a distance. And it's time to see mis hermanos locos and my parents; time to visit my niece and nephew, Uncle Ray and the rest of the fam; time to go to Oregon and see Karen (and the baby, due tomorrow!!), Courtney and Aunt Charissa (my Ecuadorian savior when Quito was getting me down); time to head back to da 'Burgh and chat with all the folks out there -- Allie (who has been fantastic about keeping in touch with me), Susie, JenDevin, the ladies at BWB. And it's time -- as painful as it is to admit this -- to figure out what to do with myself until May/June. No, I don't know yet, but I'll let you know when I do 😊

And while this will not be my last blog posting, (Galápagos! Galápagos! Galápagos!), it is still farewell. Thanks, everyone, for your emails, comments and phone calls. You bridged the great distance between us, and I felt like you were with me everywhere I went. Thanks, Brenna and Ami, for putting up with me for three months. I feel very fortunate to have you both in my life -- without you, this trip never would have been possible. And how bleak my life would be without all the great memories we've created together 😊 To all the Ecuadorians who have helped me out in some way -- my language teachers at Vida Verde, my jungle and Galápagos guides and all the people at the restaurants and hostals we've frequented: I know gringos can be a pain in the butt sometimes, so thanks for your patience.

Farewell, Ecuador -- it's been good!

Chao,
em

Advertisement



19th December 2005

come on home
Well, the adventure comes to an end, sorry em, but we are glad to have you coming home. See you soon, have a save trip uncle ray

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1009.9kb