We have arrived!


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
May 22nd 2008
Published: May 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

So yesterday was a looong day. We left Vancouver at 3pm Tuesday and arrived at our hostel around 11pm Wednesday. Our flight got in at 8:50, but they had 3 flights landing at the same time so the line for customs was insane. We also had a 6 hour layover in Panama which we used to go check out that canal they make such a big deal about. It was pretty neat, although negotiating the price to get a ride there was confusing. We ended up paying $25 each for a guided tour (in spanish, so I didn´t understand a lot of it). Panama is interesting, you have new 50 story high rises just blocks away from crumbling ghetto apartments that I´m pretty sure don´t even have windows. I took lots of pictures, maybe I´ll post them later tonight. On the plane from Houston to Panama we met a couple guys from Tennesse who were also going to Quito. They were really nice and interesting, apparently they work in hospitals recovering organs from donors. Pretty random.

Anyway I should go eat some breakfast. I miss you all!

Advertisement



25th May 2008

They recover the organs from donors. Gross. I never really thought about it, but I guess someone has to....Glad you arrived safe!!!
29th May 2008

I love those first views of a new country! $25? Each?! hmmm, seems high. So what exactly are you going to be doing in Ecudor?
30th May 2008

Probably, but the taxis were quoting us 60-80 for the two of us and we didn{t have time to look outside of the airport. I{m working on a volunteer project in Guaranda, doing communities health workshops and building community gardens for indigenous villages.

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1005.4kb