Arriving in Quito


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
April 25th 2008
Published: May 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hola Amigos!

I arrived in Quito (after about 15 hours of travel) to a grey but warm day so a bit like the UK. Found my hotel ok and met up with the group. I'm the only English girl. Everyone else is either australian, kiwi or from Hong Kong.

We had a group meeting pretty much as soon as I arrived and then headed off for some food - to an indian restaurant of all places! I think I was up for at least 24 hours so was intending on having a good sleep that night, but we got up at around 8am so not that much sleep - although did feel a lot more human!

I spent the next day wandering round the local markets in the New Town with Jess, Renai and Pamela. Lots of beautifully coloured scarves and wooden carvings. Some random things as well (you can get tattoos and piercings there and there are pictures up of goats and babies with piercings - they're probably not real, but a strange way to sell it). The food market was pretty good too - lots of juices (jugos) in which they put a hell of a lot of sugar (about 2 table spoons if not more) and whizz them up in smoothie makers. They taste pretty good but can't be very good for you. Had an empanada as well - delicious!

I haven't really been affected by the altitude apart from when i first arrived. Walking up to my room (3 flights of stairs) with my rucksack was knackering. I got to the top and felt incredibly breathless. Thankfully it was just the altitude and not my extreme lack of fitness!

We spent the rest of the afternoon playing cards etc - I was still quite tired so didn't do too much.

Early start the next day - we were off to Cotacocha Lodge and the jungle.

Advertisement



2nd May 2008

Empanadas
Gunea pig empenadas I hope?
3rd May 2008

Thanks for the bla
We blatantly don't believe that it was altitude that caused the breathlessness!!
3rd May 2008

Thanks for the black magic!!
Sorry about the last message. Sarah got a little carried away by the return button. We're just sitting around on Sarah's very comfy sofa reading your blog. How exciting! Write some more! Where are you now? Angela says: Are there any fanciable men on your tour?! Hmmmmmm. This is Mel by the way. Sarah can't type. And we're enjoying the wine that Richard bought for your Last Supper! And I'm sorry I couldn't be there for your leaving do, glad the journey went well and you're still surviving. We're all raising you a metaphorical glass! xxxxxx

Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0232s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.1kb