Almost Galapagos!


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
December 9th 2007
Published: December 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

On Wednesday and Thursday I went down to Old Town with some friends and just looked around. On Thursday we all went to the movies and saw Encantada (Enchanted), the new disney movie. It was pretty horrible but good to hang out with everyone because a lot of people are starting to leave. Afterwards we went to Stephanie´s host mom´s house for her going away party which was great. Her host mom is from Mexico so we had enchilladas and rice!!! I was so absolutely happy about it, I miss Mexican food so much! We also took shots of tequila with her family which was really funny.

On Friday morning I met up with Carissa in Mariscal so she could give me back my cell phone that she had borrowed and then I went to find a hostal. She recommended Hostal New Bask in the Mariscal and I went to check it out. It´s a great place! Really secure and cheap. I got a private room and bathroom for $12 a night total and there´s a huge picture of Elvis on the wall. Very classy. Hahaha. Then I waited around all day for Evan to fly in; longest day of my life!! I took a cab to the airport and waited there for just under an hour. It was very movie-like when I finally saw him. I snuck under the rope and ran over to him and it was wonderful. The guard kept telling us to move and I just ignored him and enjoyed the moment. I was so happy. He said his flight was fine and with no problems which is good. We took a cab to the hostal and that was quite the adventure for him. We dropped off his luggage and he called his parents to let them know he was ok. Then we went for a drink at a nice salsa restaurant near the hostal and just talked. We stayed up until 3 in the morning talking!!

The next day I took him to the DVD store (where he went crazy for Battlestar Gallactica) and then we went to both the weekend artisan market and the daily market. We bought a beautiful big Guayasamin replica painting that we want to put over our bed. I love it. That night a bunch of my friends met up with us to eat at a Mexican restaurant so Evan could meet them. We all shared 2 pitchers of delicious margaritas and ate good food. Afterwards we went to a club that was totally empty but had 2 for 1 drinks so we stayed there for a while and played pool and foosball. Then we left to another club to go dancing and we all stayed there until about midnight. We had such a great time and I am really going to miss everyone I have met here.

Today is Sunday and we went to have lunch at my host family´s house. It was nice for everyone to meet each other and we stayed for a while. Evan did some magic tricks for them and also for my host brother´s family. They gave us a ride to the mall nearby because there was supposed to be a big sale but there wasn´t. Now we are about to go back to the hostal because we have to get up early to get on the plane to go to the Galapagos. I will see if I can write about what we do while we are there but if not I will when I get back. I hope everyone has a great week! Ciaó!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0947s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb