Thanksgiving Week


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
November 22nd 2007
Published: November 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Happy Thanksgiving Everyone!!

Since my last entry, I have been running around like crazy trying to plan a trip to the Galapagos for four foreigners. Luckily, we found a company that has a tour where we stay on Isla Santa Cruz and then go to different places for 5 days. It´s fairly reasonable which is great. Although, as usual, all of these "business" deals always feel a little sketchy since you just have to trust that the person won´t run away with your money. But, the guy seems fine and on Monday hopefully I can pick up our airplane tickets so we can be reassured that it´s a real deal. This past Monday after school I worked on my biggest paper here, 5 pages!! Oh boy!! That´s some extreme sarcasm. Given that 5 pages in spanish is obviously harder than writing in english, I still just feel like I am in high school all over again. But it´s ok, that means there is more time to enjoy the city. After school we have been having dance class to learn salsa but unfortunatley the guys are really into themselves so they try and show off a lot instead of teaching us. And, two of my friends here already know how to dance salsa really really well and the guys are always criticizing them. But, these girls go out to the salsa clubs at night and the guys are drooling over them because they are really talented. So usually I stick to dancing with my friends that know, and learn from them.

Today, Thanksgiving Day, I deposited money for our Galapagos trip and in a few minutes I am going home to make mashed potatos. Our school is hosting a Thanksgiving Feast for us and our families so we all were asked to bring a dish. Of course, I am bringing mashed potatos; they are my absolute favorite!! It will be an interesting Thanksgiving because we will be with our host families and having a differently prepared turkey. It´s a really nice gesture of the school to do this for us because for a lot of students, Thanksgiving is a big deal and they have a hard time not celebrating it. But for me, I am more excited about leaving for the beach tonight!! We are leaving for Atacames tonight at 11 PM so we can get in early in the morning. I can picture it now, me, the sun, the sand, the ipod, and a margarita. Perfect. Enjoy your Thanksgiving and eat lots of asparagus and green beans for me!! Ciaó!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb