Instituto Geografico Militar Revisited


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
November 7th 2007
Published: November 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I went up to the IGM again to buy some more maps. While I was studying the various maps, and trying to select which ones to buy, an female employee came up to me and asked me whether she could help me. I said thanks, but I was just looking and selecting for myself. She then said whether I could help her. I said, sure, with what? She said she needed help with a translation of an English email. So I translated it for her and it turned out to be a love letter from a 46 year old guy from North Carolina! The lady was very happy when I had translated it all and told her that it was all very nice and that I wished I got such a letter as well. Her male colleague (the elderly guy who I know from last time) joked that she was already counting the days until the day the American was coming back to Ecuador. I asked her whether he was guapo (goodlooking). So she said whether I wanted to see his picture. I said yes, and she asked me into her office and showed me his picture on the computer! Not my type of guy, with a moustache, but of course I said he was very guapo!

Today I went back as I could not find the map datum they are using here (South American 56) on my GPS and they had offered me yesterday to help me. The elderly guy already greeted me with a handshake, just as an old friend, and they fixed my GPS (the entry was under a slightly different name).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0221s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb