Fuerza Futura


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
September 6th 2005
Published: September 6th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Futbol season in Cosanga has begun. Although Cosanga is small enough to fit into one photo (I really need to upload some) and is poor enough to be a Peace Corps mission, we at Yanayacu call it civilization. The town is a two hour hike down the mountain.

We all piled into Harold's pick up truck to go down the mountain for the beginning of soccer season in Cosanga --- All FIFTEEN of us piled into Harold's truck. Then we picked up Galo and his wife, and on the way we found Marcos and Rafael walking so they jumped in too. All NINETEEN of us drove down to Cosanga for the opening ceremonies.

The opening ceremony was amazing! Everyone (less than 500) from Cosanga was out on the muddy streets surrounding the Coloseo (a cement slab with seating for 100). I ate street chicken (also known as intestinal russian roulette) with Grant while we waited for the procession to begin.

All the teams, including Yanayacu's 'Fuerza Futura', marched into the Coloseo. We followed, and Cosangas' stray dogs followed us. There were speeches, and a beauty contest (every team had a dolled up niƱa to represent them) (Yanayacu didn't win (it was rigged)), and then there was the 15 minute national anthem all while the dogs were sniffing and barking and beetles were flying into the fluorescent lights.

This is how I have been getting to know Ecuador. I go into Cosanga to watch futbol. A couple of days ago Ecuador was playing Bolivia for a really important game (qualifying for the World Cup). So we walked down to Cosanga to watch the game at Ermita's, the only restaurant in town. They couldn't pick up the signal at the restaurant so we were ushered into the little bedroom attached to the restaurant to watch the game. We drank beer and watched Ecuador beat Bolivia all while in a tiny room filled with teddy bears, and posters of Leonardo DiCapprio.

So my life isn't all jungle and caterpillars. I am in Quito right now to meet some personnel and send Dr. Gentry (Grant) (my supervisor) (the guy who has more faith in me than I do) back to the United States. It is nice to be around restaurants and shops for a change. When I'm here in Gringo Land (The Mariscal District) or when I was at the shopping mall meeting with the people from the Natural History Museum that I will be working with it is very easy to forget that I am in third world. The disparity in wealth in this country is mind blowing.

-Aaron


Advertisement



12th September 2005

hi there!
I saw your Dad today at a book discussion and he promised to send me your blog address. When I got home, it was already on my computer. It sounds like you're having an experience of a lifetime. I'm sure after this you will always appreciate heat, good food, your bed at home and mom's cooking. I forwarded your blog address to Jeff, who I am sure will write to you. I visited him last week and his apartment looks like it belongs in a third world country! But he does have warm water! Take care of yourself and I hope to see you when you get back to Greensboro. Fondly, Annette Rachlin
12th September 2005

Hi!
Hi Aaron!! Today is the day that I am heading out, flying to NZ, I am at Jake's right now. It sounds like you are having an amazing experience, I am very excited for you. I tried to email you a mass email that I just sent out and it said your email address is down, do you have another email address I can use? Best of luck my friend, I miss you already but I know we can expect great things from you, much love, Emily

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb