Ecuador at last!


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
May 7th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well here I am in Ecuador at last!

I started my trip in Quito, and certainly did not expect it to be such a huge, modern (and polluted) city.... I was here to learn Spanish for 3 weeks before moving on to the volunteer project that I organised.

I stayed with a lovely host family, Marisol and Paula. When I arrived (late) at Quito airport, there they were holding a placard with my name on it, greeting me with big smiles and kisses. Before I could gather my thoughts they had whisked my bag away and off we went to the place that would be my home for the next 3 weeks. They were wonderful and did everything for me (often to my protest) - and all with a smile. Unfortunately their dog Jacob took a bit longer to warm up to me!

My Spanish teachers were great and at the end of 3 weeks I can get by, but practice is the key, and unfortunately while I was in Quito, I did not get much of that (except at Marisols'). The other students spoke English in their down time, which is understandable - you have no idea how long it can take to form a sentence in a new language, especially after a few drinks, lol!

Before I could blink, 3 weeks had flown by, and it was onto the next adventure - a volunteer project in the Amazon - Santa Martha flor de Amazonia.... I couldn´t wait!!








Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

My host family!My host family!
My host family!

Marisol and Paula, who made my 3 week stay with them great!
First DayFirst Day
First Day

My very first day in Quito, after 4 hours of Spanish lessons and seeing an INCREDIBLE Guayasamin exhibition
Ecuadorian Cultural showEcuadorian Cultural show
Ecuadorian Cultural show

On one of my first few nights in Quito we all went to an event showcasing Ecuadorian music and dance
Ecuadorian DancingEcuadorian Dancing
Ecuadorian Dancing

Everything was so vibrant
Marisol and JacobMarisol and Jacob
Marisol and Jacob

Marisol´s baby took Quite a while to warm up to me... but eventually I got a kiss and a (small) wag of the tail
Me and Helen at an Indian restaurantMe and Helen at an Indian restaurant
Me and Helen at an Indian restaurant

Helen was also living with us, and here we are the weekend before I left Quito. It was really strange speaking to the Indian waiter in Spanish!! And I think he was pretty intrigued himself, lol
The all famous Cuy...The all famous Cuy...
The all famous Cuy...

Or in layman terms - guinea pig, ech!
Centro HistoricoCentro Historico
Centro Historico

An amazing example of some of the architecture here in the old district of Quito. You can climb right to the top of the belltower and I squeezed out of the window to take in the amazing view
Centro HistoricoCentro Historico
Centro Historico

On a Sunday this place is full of families enjoying the day
The Virgin MaryThe Virgin Mary
The Virgin Mary

Overlooking the city on top of El Panacillo
Wanna buy a...Wanna buy a...
Wanna buy a...

Dalmation?! This woman was wandering around the street with a basketful of puppies!
Southern Hemisphere. Northern Hemisphere. South, North, South, North... Southern Hemisphere. Northern Hemisphere. South, North, South, North...
Southern Hemisphere. Northern Hemisphere. South, North, South, North...

Ok so you just have to get into the spirit of things and take a damn picture already!
The real EcuatorThe real Ecuator
The real Ecuator

So then I get told that This is the site of the real Ecuator after more accurate calculations were done. A couple of crazy water experiments seemed to prove the point.
GraveyardGraveyard
Graveyard

We also got taken on an interesting cultural tour... Here is an example of how people were once buried - in the foetal position in a jar
Look out!Look out!
Look out!

And I tried spear shooting
Beer PongBeer Pong
Beer Pong

The opposition has to get a ping pong ball into one of the cups (half full of beer). If they do, you have to down it. Then they get to go again. The rules get complicated and it doesn't help if you get drunk (I didn't do so well)
A few moreA few more
A few more

Lethal fish bowls
It was a long night...It was a long night...
It was a long night...

but a lot of fun!


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 66; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb