my weekend and internship madness!


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
June 20th 2007
Published: June 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hola to everyone! Today my plan of action is to discuss my internship and my weekend. First, Quito Para Todos was part of an environmental fair to raise awareness for the Yasuni, an indigenous community living in the Amazon. They, whoever they are, want to dig for oil there, so the larger picture was to protect the people, plants, and animals who dwell there and to preserve their way of life as they want it. Quito Para Todo's relation to this was to promote safe and secure environments for people and to represent the people who are affected, not the oil diggers nor the companies involved. We had a small booth where we handed out fliers, played games with school children, and, the best part, handed out stickers for people to put on cars that are park badly or that otherwise hinder pedestrians. What I love about the Spanish language is that things are very clear; for instance, these stickers basically said, "Move your car, you ignorant jerk" instead of, "Please, next time you station your vehicle here, make sure it is in a secure and pleasant spot so that everyone can be happy with the world." So the fair was great fun; I got to see the mayor of Quito speak. Then he came back to our booth, took a picture with a little girl, and left. What a politician. Eli and I are hoping to get the video camera out this week to tape some things with him on his bike and me walking around the city. I am really enjoying working with him and with the organization.
Next, my weekend. A little late for that considering it's Tuesday, but no matter. Saturday Alicia and I went to a volcanic spring called Papayacta. It is sort of like a Turkish bath, minus the naked men bit thank God. The water is all warmed by a volcano located nearby and pumped into the pools. I actually did quite a bit of swimming in one of the deeper pools; it felt so good to be in water. It is really the only time I ever feel graceful, even though I am not that great of a swimmer. Another thing I did to excess was something they call a water massage, where you jump into icy cold water, submerge, and then slowly go back into hot water. It almost hurts, but not quite. Afterwards, we ate lunch and I will tell you what I had, just so you get an idea of the crazy prices. For lunch we had fava beans and cheese to start, then a vegetable soup, followed by trout, rice, and fried potatoes and a small salad, for three dollars per person. It almost feels unsettling to pay what I consider so little for so much. I can only guess how much time it took to make the soup, and fava beans take forever and a day to shell. I guess I have some guilt surrounding my fortune to be able to travel here, almost as I felt in Morocco. It is a strange disconcerting feeling that I have grown quite accustomed to by traveling and taking classes that promote awareness of the rest of the world, not just the somewhat stilted ethnocentric one of the U.S.

But I digress. Sunday was an awesomely fun day; there is no other way to explain it. It was the day sponsored by Quito Para Todos where cars are not allowed in the center of the city, so our program took a bike tour of the churches, markets, and plazas there. And I got to ride a tandem, which I haven't done since I was a kid! It was so so so much fun. I wish there were more opportunities for me to ride in Minneapolis. I rode most of the time with Eli and Suco, the program director's son, but towards the end one of the other girls from the program wanted to try, and we flew down all the hills we previously had complained about biking up. I remember our professor yelling after us on multiple occasions, "Well, bye you two, it was nice having you in class!" Not to put a philosophical, reflective spin on everything, but I really think there are so few times in my life that I actually have the freedom to do something crazy, to run without obstacles or fly down a hill on a bicycle, because I am always concerned about cars, people, random obstacles in my path that weren't there the day before, stepping on people's toes, all of that. So when I can swim freely and ride fast I feel so exhilarated and free. It is a great feeling, and if I got to experience it more, I know it wouldn't be nearly as fabulous.
This week is a week of papers, presentations, and all around work. This weekend we go to a place called Quilatoa, and I don't really know what will be in store for us there. I can't believe how fast time is going.
I'll write again soon. Love and peace to all!



Advertisement



20th June 2007

This is probably my favorite entry so far. There are many things I like, such as the fact that you feel graceful in the water, and that you felt so free while riding the bicycle. I'm glad you're having such an amazing time. I knew you would. I told you so, I told you so, nah nah nah boo boo... okay, just kidding... I'm sure you knew you'd have a great time. Oh... I don't know how well you're able to keep up with gossip while down in South America, but guess what... Dan and Mariah are going out. Isn't that something?
20th June 2007

wooo
I'm glad you're having fun! I want one of those stickers! lol Nothing really new to report. Jon's cooking dinner tonight, so I'm going to his house later today. He moves to Denver on July 1st, and things are going to seem pretty drab around here when he's gone...

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 48; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb