Quito/Otavalo


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
June 11th 2007
Published: June 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone!

I´ve been in Ecuador for 4 days now. I haven´t found a wireless connection yet to upload pictures but thought I would write a bit about what I´ve been doing. I spent 1 day in Quito and then took a 2-hour bus ride north to Otavalo. Otavalo is a beautiful town in the Andes mountains. Our hostel was in the perfect location and it was only $8 a night! It was freezing at night, though. I slept with 4 woolen blankets, 2 regular blankets, a sweater, sweat pants, socks, and a beanie, and I was still cold!!

Since I´ve been here, I haven´t slept past 7:00 a.m., which everyone knows is strange for me! The animals make so much noise at the crack of dawn that it´s hard to sleep. But I sleep by 9 p.m. so that makes up for it 😊

Some fun facts:
In Ecuador, you can get a bottle of water for $0.25, an avocado for $0.15, a watermelon for $0.70, and bus rides cost $0.25! I haven´t spent more than $5 a day! It´s awesome!

I´m back in Quito this week for Spanish classes so I´ll upload pictures when I can. Stay tuned for more details. :D

Adios!
J

Advertisement



12th June 2007

Good to hear from you
Hey Jen, I was just wondering how you were doing. Looks like all is well and you're havin a good time (maybe except for the cold)! :-) Keep us posted, g-)
12th June 2007

Yeah
Yeah!

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0217s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1016.8kb