A few more days in Quito


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
March 18th 2007
Published: March 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Me with Carmen and Virginia...Me with Carmen and Virginia...Me with Carmen and Virginia...

my wonderful hosts from the Chiriboga Foundation
I hadn’t planned to stay very long in Quito after Galapagos - just enough time to sort myself out, do a little bit of mountain biking and say goodbye to people before heading south. However, within hours of returning from Galapagos, I came down with a nasty stomach bug. I tried to keep on going for the first couple of days, but it gradually worsened and before I knew it I was in bed with a fever and the worst stomach problems I can ever remember having. Not sure what caused it - something I ate or just a bug - but my roommate from the boat in Galapagos was ill too, so whatever it was I must have picked it up there.

Anyway by the end of the week, albeit a few pounds lighter, I was more or less up and about again and agreed with Riikka (a fellow volunteer) that we would set off travelling on the Sunday. I spent my last couple of days trying to organize my massive pile of clothes and “stuff” (in the hope that it would all squeeze into 2 bags) and saying goodbye to friends.

On my last evening in
Quito at nightQuito at nightQuito at night

El Centro Historico
Quito, my friend Ricardo (the son of my Ecuadorian hairdresser) took me on a night-time tour of the Centro Historico. I'd only seen it during the day before, and it really does look amazing once everything is lit up. (The Quito photos here are from Ricardo's phone - thanks Ricardo!) Later he and his friend Mauricio joined me, Riikka and Stefi (another volunteer) on a farewell night out in town. Unfortunately (or maybe fortunately, given that we were traveling the next day) I was stuck on water for most of the night as I still wasn’t feeling quite right. However, it was a great night with plenty of dancing.

On the Sunday, after I had finally finished my packing, I said goodbye to Virginia and Carmen, my wonderful hosts from the Chiriboga Foundation, and set off with Riikka for the bus station. Given the events that followed, I wish we’d found an excuse to delay our departure - but then hindsight is a wonderful thing!





Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Night out in QuitoNight out in Quito
Night out in Quito

Riikka, Steffi and me
El Centro Historico de QuitoEl Centro Historico de Quito
El Centro Historico de Quito

Shortly before sunset


Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0727s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb