Quito - Day 1 (and trip down)


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
April 20th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Terrace View - 1Terrace View - 1Terrace View - 1

Secret Garden Hostal
Not much to say about the trip down - four flights, sleep deprivation, actually slept through a take-off (second time ever).

I arrived around 8:30 PM and got to the Secret Garden hostal (www.secretgardenquito.com) around 10:00 PM. The cab ride was normal... but I kept wondering if he was taking me to the right place.

The hostal is quite the experience. Five floors with the top floor being a terrace overlooking the Old Town (more colonial architecture). I stayed up a few hours, got a coke/rum/lime drink (it does have a name, but I forget) and hung out with the other travelers on the terrace... a crazy bunch... I met people from the UK, USA, Australia, and Holland. I think some have been or will be touring about for over a year.

So, I'm staying in a dorm room with three girls.

During breakfast this morning I met two girls - Jessica and Jennifer - and they invited me to hang out with them for the day since I didn´t have any plans. So, we hung out together and they showed me around a bit... we took a lot of buses, went to the Indian market, ate
Out and About - 1Out and About - 1Out and About - 1

This was taken from the Rio Coca bus station. Shortly after this we were caught in a LOT of rain. :)
at an Ecuadorian restaurant, went to Quicentro (a big and modern mall), ate snacks at Cinnabon and TGI Fridays, walked around a lot, went bowling (yeah, really, and you wouldn´t be able to tell the difference between this alley and one in the U.S.), and talked a lot. They had just finished a two week mission trip where about 40 of them were building, providing medical care, and other things in a village.

Somewhere in all of that, we also got stuck in a downpour -- had to flag down a taxi. The city is beautiful with the clouds pouring over the green mountains lining the east and west sides of the city. However, Quito is kind of dirty and smelly (pollution). The buses just pour out exhaust fumes. Though, once the wind kicked up and the rain poured down... it kind of cleaned out things a bit (Quito is in a valley).

After that they left to head back to Washington, I read for awhile, and then got a glass of wine and watched the mini-bonfire they they have in a mini-wheelbarrow on the terrace. Tomorrow, I´m not sure what I will be up to... I want
Inside the Secret GardenInside the Secret GardenInside the Secret Garden

They have plants all over the place and a pretty open air system.


They have plants all over the place and a pretty open air system.
to tour Old Town a bit -- churches, parks, etc. I also want to sign up for Spanish lessons next week.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Wheelbarrow FireWheelbarrow Fire
Wheelbarrow Fire

¿How unique can you get? This place is unique.
Terrace View - 2Terrace View - 2
Terrace View - 2

Secret Garden Hostal
Terrace View - 3Terrace View - 3
Terrace View - 3

Secret Garden Hostal
StairsStairs
Stairs

Written on the steps - "I never think of the future. It comes soon enough." -Einstein
Out and About - 2Out and About - 2
Out and About - 2

Crossing a random street.
Four of these in a dayFour of these in a day
Four of these in a day

I think four legs (flights) in one-day is a new personal record.


20th April 2007

Jealous!
Looks really interesting! Makes me want to visit there. Is there Internet access at the hostal or did you go to an Internet cafe?
20th April 2007

Hola!
Hola, mi hermano! Glad to see that you're doing well and enjoying an entirely new continent. Looking forward to seeing more pictures!
20th April 2007

Sweet!
It looks and sounds sweet! That's really insane to have four legs in one day, but I'm glad that it went well.
20th April 2007

Internet
Yeah, they have three computers onsite with Internet access.

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb