Practically fluent


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
July 24th 2005
Published: July 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well, school's out for me and, if the truth be told, I haven't actually achieved complete fluency. I still get people asking me if maybe I spent some years out of Ecuador as a child and that sort of thing. And I guess it may deteriorate to the point that when any of you see me again I know just a little bit more than the average traveller and have to rummage round in my notebook or dictionary for most words and tenses.

Straight from school on Friday night, I went to the bottom of a volcano near Quito with four others (including one weird German guy who gave the rest of us something to talk about whenever he was out of the room or lagging behind or just facing the other way). The Germans (because he wasn't the only one, just the only weird one) made us get up at 6.30 so I felt like I was back on one of those godawful organised trips to go up the hill. It was very nice, apart from when I left my camera half way down it and had to sprint back up in the hottest sun, sick to the stomach with worry and actual sick because it was such hard work. I started to lose my hearing as I neared the spot where it was, I was punishing myself so badly.

(Wasn't at all sure I was going to be able to bring myself to tell that little story.)

It was a really pretty area, with lots of wildlife. Last night, we played card games and drank rum (Not weirdo Chris though, he can't drink for some reason, tough he does carry a hipflask of vodka which he gargles after cleaning his teeth to kill all the Germans (his words not mine) but he never swallows it. He was weird in many other ways too.)

Then, this morning, we went to the football final. We couldn't see very well, unfortunately, but it was very exciting, especially as we won 3-0. They were pretty rubbish at football, nothing to the North End.

I'm sure there's more to say but I'm v tired so maybe I'll be back in touch tomorrow. Although I might just have to go around planning what to take to Galapagos, etc. (Still jealous?)

Advertisement



25th July 2005

very jealous
Watched a documentary on the galapagos islands yesterday. Watch out for salt-water lizards, apparently, and comerants which can't fly and lots of creatures that only mate when the cold water currents come in. Bet they're well randy the rest of the time... xx
25th July 2005

Friendship over
Hey liz i think you shoudl check your facts. THomas is the name of the weird german kid, if i remember correctly chris is the really charming guy from NY. I hope you can edit these blog things.
25th July 2005

hostal
OK - no morr cantumeley or crittississums abowt yur lecksickle inakkurasies - I wull ristricked miselve to felissitayshiuns on yore gramur, stile and witt. Luv, Dud.
25th July 2005

Sorry!
Oh no! How embarrassing. I spelt his entire name wrongly and put your name instead, Chris. Sorry that I don´t feel I can change it now. Please accept my sincere and public apologies. For the record, Chris is a normal, extremely charming, bloke and not at all like Thomas, who is really odd.
25th July 2005

I´ve just bought a book about Darwin, evolution and the islands which should get me nicely informed. I´ll keep my eyes peeled for those salt-water lizards and more generally for mating animals...

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb