Inward Reflection: Week 2


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
January 21st 2020
Published: January 21st 2020
Edit Blog Post

As my time in Ecuador continues and I realize that we are almost halfway through the trip, I have begun to feel homesick. Although I enjoy ecuadorian food, I miss american food and living in my own home. When I first arrived in Quito, I had to make significant cultural adjustments in terms of food and social behavior. However now that I have adapted to my environment and the fascination of being in a new country has faded, I miss being confident and comfortable in an environment that I can call my own. In this past week, I’ve felt very lonely being the only black student on this trip constantly surrounded by the majority ecuadorian and white students. Although I enjoy interacting with people groups different from me, it is tiring to be a minority within such a large population for an extended period of time.

Last week, our entire group of 24 students rode the bus to a Museum, which was an overwhelming experience. Before boarding the bus, I felt very anxious about using public transportation because I was afraid of dangers that we had been warned about, such as pick-pocketing and strangers of the opposite sex violating personal space. I was also afraid that I would be left on the bus because of the crowds of people that would unload at each stop. There was very limited amounts of time to get off the bus before the doors closed, which required a heightened sense of awareness of my surroundings. During the bus ride of 11 stops, I was uncomfortable because I was pressed against strangers and in a confined space where it would be difficult to exit. I was also standing close to a young couple, who were displaying public affection a couple feet away. There is not a lot of instances of public displays of affection in America or in my home, especially where I did not have the opportunity to distance myself from the situation. Thus, I felt uncomfortable in standing so close to intimate displays of affection. Once we all got off at the appropriate stop, we realized that two of our group members were left on the bus. Everyone was worried for these two people and I felt concerned and anxious in such a chaotic situation. However, after they had returned to the group and we all started walking home, I felt grateful for this cultural experience of riding the bus that pushed everyone out of their comfort zones.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb