Day 13: Tragedy Strikes


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito » Historical Center
April 14th 2012
Published: May 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Injured KennyInjured KennyInjured Kenny

Mommy I'm so very sad.
Kenny doesn’t realize just how small he his. Kenny starts fights he can’t finish. Kenny has Napoleonic/small dog syndrome. Dachshunds were bred to fight animals bigger and meaner than themselves. OR maybe Kenny just doesn’t like other dogs all up in his biz-ness and when they get inside his American sized comfort zone he snaps at them.

Our 13th day in Quito, only our second Saturday, Kenny snapped at an Akita and the 150+ lb Akita snapped back. She attacked his head, separating the muscle and skin from the skull and his right chest area, puncturing his lung, tearing his muscle and dislocating a rib. Kenny was in surgery for about an hour repairing the torn muscle and punctured lung and the surgery required about a 4” incision.

I’m writing this entry 26 days after the incident and I have no idea where the time went. It’s been a blur of ooze, washing bandages, 3 am changes and trips to the vet. (Lucky for me vet visits range from 2-3 dollars.) This wasn’t the best way to start my life in Quito and certainly waylaid my plans… starting Spanish lessons, finding volunteer work, making friends, etc.

But in
Kenny PantsKenny PantsKenny Pants

I dare you not to adore me!
the 39 days since I’ve arrived some progress has been made. I’ve found my favorite local shops, established a gringo bar/hang out, made a few friends, discovered good restaurants, and (so people say) my Spanish has greatly improved.

Kenny has also made progress. About a week ago (May 3rd) he turned the corner and started wagging his tail and flapping his ears again. This week he had to be put on his leash again, as his ability to out run me came back. Hopefully soon we’ll have back to our 45 minute walks in the park, but at 10,000 ft above sea level we’ll have to take it slow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Doxie SlinkyDoxie Slinky
Doxie Slinky

I slept in this position for 3 hours.
New Couch/BedNew Couch/Bed
New Couch/Bed

Thanks for the new couch/guest bed Aunt Jacquie. I love it!
Getting BetterGetting Better
Getting Better

He's obviously getting better.


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb