Start of the Journey...Quito


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito » Historical Center
January 5th 2011
Published: January 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Quito

Internet Cafe

Hola! Wow! Im finally here!

Slept most of the flight which helped. Arrived at around 6pm local time (-5 hrs GMT) to around 12º which was nice. Got a taxi easily enough from the taxi office at the airport, $9 into Centro Historical....the old town. Was far too excited to flop down in the room after i´d seen the view of the Basillica (huge cathedral) all lit up on the hill above Quito straight out of my bedroom window.....so off I went exploring!

Your not supposed to go far at night without using a cab so I only walked 2 blocks to the Central Plaza which was still busy with people. I was after a nice cold local beer but stumbled upon a cute little coffee shop so decided id be better off trying my crap spanish out there, instead of looking a right tit in a bar. It worked, I got a lovely coffee AND got to smoke whilst I drank it sat inside watching the world go by out the window....nice.

Off out exploring at 8am today. Had tasty breakfast in the Hostal, Mrs Vega the owner showed me how to get the bus into the Mariscal and have a mooch around the ´tourist area´.
Still got lost, but managed to hop on the right bus in the end.....so here I am sat in my first internet cafe, trying to work out where the ´@´button is on a south american keyboard! Its tiring work when no-one speaks english AT ALL.

Right off to get that beer now... and organise some trips.....Hasta Leugo! (see ya soon)

Advertisement



5th January 2011

Greetings from the olds
Glad all is OK ..enjoy your beer. Take care. Mum & Dad. Dunc says Hi

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb