weekend in the rainforest!


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Mindo
June 11th 2007
Published: June 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

ok I swear, I am all caught up after this. so no more double entry days! love you all!
June 9
This weekend we are staying at a lodge in the subtropical rainforest near a little touristy town called Mindo. I can't quite believe I'm in a rainforest! We've spent this weekend hiking and taking in all the nature we possibly can before returning to Quito tomorrow. I can't quite believe I've gone hiking in the subtropics, isn't that wild? Yesterday was the biggest adventure I've had hiking. Though in Spanish the forest is called "bosque nublado" or "cloud forest", it quickly became apparent that it is more rainy than cloudy. About an hour into our two-hour hike, we walked right into a downpour. Even with the huge canopy of trees overhead, the rain soaked us in minutes. Then, to make things even better, the dirt turned to mud, and Just began slide on every decline imaginable. I have no idea how many times I fell, only that by the end, I was covered in mud and my shoes were soaked from the inside. I was never so glad to eat something hot and to be in dry clothes. The amount of life here is amazing. The air almost feels alive, maybe because it is so humid. There is moisture everywhere, and a constant hum of insects. There are animals as varied as monkeys and bears living in the same forest. Hummingbirds are thick here, and I learned from Piere our guide, that they were seen as spiritual creatures by the Incas and Mayas, and by today's indigenous people. There are apparently huge statues of them in some indigenous areas. My tattoo is seeming more and more nifty by the day. My goal was to use nifty at least once in this entry, and I have accomplished that. I'm a much better person now.
Today we went horseback riding and did some more hiking. The food has been just wonderful. The chef is Italian, so we've had risotto, homemade pasta, lasagna, and tiramisu, to name just a few. Everyone I'm sure will be also happy to know that I have found a beer that I actually enjoy. It is called Pilsner and it's a light, smooth beer from Ecuador. I'm having such a good time hanging out with everyone in my program and getting to know them. Colorado College kids are so fabulous. I feel the most relaxed here that I have in months.
June 10
Today I woke up at five thirty in the morning with a few other crazy souls to go on a hike to look for the elusive toucans, who on occasion will come out at dawn to eat. We didn't see any, unfortutantely, but the walk was so nice and the sun so warm. After breakfast, we left to spend the day in Mindo proper. First we went to a butterfly observatory, and I got to feed a butterfly some mashed banana from my finger. It was the coolest feeling. I have a picture I will post if I ever figure out how to post pictures on here. Then we went wading in the river. The current is very high because of all the rain, and the sound of the water was awesome. Finally, after lunch, we went to a hummingbird observatory. Hummingbirds are clearly the coolest birds ever. Not only are they beautifully colored, but they have to have so much determination and persistence to beat their wings 90 times a second! Funny how I find my rolemodels in wildlife, but seriously, they are fabulous creatures. Finally, we headed back to Quito. I was really surprised to find I had missed Alicia and Fernando quite a bit. Fernando is so cool too; he's a painter, I can't remember if I mentioned this, and he loves music. He is also really deep; I've had many conversations with him about how he creates art and he has described his paintings to me. Many of them have indigenous themes. I am so so happy here in Ecuador; a month won't nearly be long enough for me.
Oh, because I know everyone wants to know, we are exactly 9350 feet above sea level in Quito. I'm sure you will all sleep better tonight knowing that fascinating fact.
I have to explain quickly about my Internet situation. I am connected to the Internet in the house, and it is not only a bit expensive, but also is dial-up, so I don't have much time on it. I hope this way of blogging isn't too obnoxious to read for anyone. I just don't have time to write entries on the internet, so I tend to get long-winded when I have a lot of time to write on my braillenote. Oh, and because of this, I may not have time to respond to comments, but please please know that I'm reading them and I appreciate them. Even though I love it here, it makes me feel so good to hear from you and I miss you all. More later, as always!



Advertisement



11th June 2007

Great blogs, Lauren!
I love every one! What you are doing all sounds fantastic. I'm sure your host family loves knowing you. And your insights on accessibility in Ecuador vs. Spain vs. U.S. will be extremely valuable to city planners, etc. Your blogs show that you are a very good writer, so your reports are bound to be very well done. Don't apologize for the length or number of blog entries; we, your readers, eat it all up eagerly! P.S. In our little circle garden in front of the house, I saw what I thought were weeds and pulled a few up, only to discover they were mint! Coming up as volunteer offspring of the mint that you planted and tended last year. So far, I'm using them for aromatherapy! Nice souvenir.
11th June 2007

Awesome
After saying good bye to your mom who is off to another meeting, I spent a delightful hour reading and re-reading your blog. It brought to mind our hike in the rain forest in Australia and my search in the canopy for all the birds that made such a raucous. I never found them of course. We also took a tram that overlooked the rainforest and I did not see them there either. The last parrot I saw was several weeks ago, chained to a cage in a roadside fruit and vegetable stand in South Carolina! Not quite the same. I must not let myself get into a blog here, so will say good-bye and keep on bloggin.
11th June 2007

hummingbirds
Did you know Hummingbirds can't walk...perhaps that is why they beat their wings so fast. LOL- who knows! Glad you are having a great time! Miss you! Te amo mucho!
11th June 2007

Miss ya!
ohhh, Lauren, Ecuador sounds awesome! I'd love to hike around in a rainforest. I should shoot you an email soon. I sent you a message on facebook, but I'm not sure if you got it before you left. Hope to hear from you again soon!
14th June 2007

Wow!
Amazing that your hummingbird tatoo is becoming more significant all the time! It is a great opportunity to visit the rainforest. I am jealous!

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb