Not alot of work, but alot of waves


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Atacames
February 24th 2007
Published: February 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

With my hand tooWith my hand tooWith my hand too

An important addition
The entry for this week will not be long. I think that the pictures say more then my words with this lot.
This week was one of those predictable ones that seem to always be comprised of seven days. They followed the same old order, and I find myself now on a Saturday here in Atacames again. The long journey to this computer always rewards my efforts, and once again my spirits have been lifted by the emails I have recieved from all you back home in New Zealand. I hope those of you that haven't emailed haven't forgotten me, and if by some freak chance I haven't emailed you rest assured that I remember you, and am always thinking of you (whoever you are).
Anyway....
The start of the week was holiday as I am sure I mentioned in my last blog, so we basically visited a different beach every day, and stayed with a lovely family in Tonsupa (just North of Atacames). The beaches were packed with holidaying Mountain folk, and there was a real sense of fiesta in the air, and between the waves.
With all the sun, surf, and waterfights I started to feel pretty bugered by
Muisne SunsetMuisne SunsetMuisne Sunset

another good night
the time Tuesday arrived, and seeing as work re-commenced tomorrow I thought I would be wise to swing the day away hanging in the hammock studying spanish (I only went to the beach for an hour).
Wednesday rained our morning away and we built a new garden and wash houuse roof with Vicente in the afternoon. It was fun to learn how to construct things out of Bamboo, but the ants that swarmed out and bit me wasn't fun.
Thursday morning was same old work as always, and seemed to merge into one big long day with Wednesday afternoon, but Friday was a different story all together. In the morning we took a motorised river canoe to Congal Island and had a biology and history lecture with Andres. In the afternoon I hosted my first english class and found out how frustrating it can be to try and get people to pronounce new and strange sounds (th, v, s, and r are all strange sounds for the kids here). I did get some ideas for how to improve the english material I am making tho.
Wow so boring this aid work.... not really, just boring to read and write about.
Poser?Poser?Poser?

Yes I am!

On friday after work alex and I caught a river boat to a beach 20 minutes away, and began a long walk to the small surfer town of Mompiche where we planned to spend the night. We only had 25 dollars between us once we had paid the boat driver, but after a good dinner, a beer, a trip to black sand beach (it was beautiful), and a bus ride we are safe here in Atacames to use Alex's credit card to find funds for another night away from the station.

Alex leaves on Wednesday, and three other volunteers have arrived whome (with an e) are rather dull and characterless, so I hope I have another interestingly volunteer arrive soon.

Wish me luck,
and good luck to you,
Andrew


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

one more dropone more drop
one more drop

off that old tin roof
My and my PacificMy and my Pacific
My and my Pacific

But here I am stuck on the other side
My mate AlexMy mate Alex
My mate Alex

A co-volunteer striking a sophisticated pose
Me on the dockMe on the dock
Me on the dock

In the middle of the mangroves you will find us!
Titanium SandTitanium Sand
Titanium Sand

The black sand really contrasts well against my back I think
Wave JumpingWave Jumping
Wave Jumping

Like Micheal Jordan I too have hang time (not sao much style)
Me WetMe Wet
Me Wet

just down the road at Largatera
Alex on the beachAlex on the beach
Alex on the beach

Taking a photo of the ocean
Rainy day roofRainy day roof
Rainy day roof

A little bit of proof that it is really the rainy season here!
Me in  a waveMe in  a wave
Me in a wave

Big waves from up close!
Road to MompicheRoad to Mompiche
Road to Mompiche

This is how your first find our bay, that houses Mompiche, Muisne, Bunche and us.


27th February 2007

e mail
I set you up an i-station email address-You account doesn't seem to accept emails from mine. The domain is webmail.istation.co.nz (no www) the user name is andrewc and the password is andrew.
28th February 2007

jack johnson wannabe
Hey bro ! :) Man, it seems like you're always one step closer to experiencing your perfect environment. Chillin out by the beach with your waves, plenty of scenery to inspire you for some new poems, hopefully some JJ tunes to keep you relaxed...all good ! I'm well happy that things are cool in your world. I'm good...busy, but oh well, what else is new :) We continue to await your return. Peace.

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0722s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb