The Enchanted Islands


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Galápagos
June 2nd 2006
Published: June 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Seal lionSeal lionSeal lion

Swimming with them!!
The Galapagos Islands are a true wonder... they are really spectacular! I have spent the past week sailing around the islands, swimming with seal lions, penguins, turtles, iguanas, sharks. They are all really friendly and come right up to you. I had a few special moments with a penguin.. who was looking at me with the same fasination I was looking at him! .
The sea lions would swim to me as if they were coming right for me, then gracefully swim above or below me!

On land it was really special too.. we saw blue footed boobies and masked boobies! The blue footed boobies do look as if someone has painted them! I saw flamingos, albatross and frigets.. loads and loads of birds. Got treated to a few mating sessions too! The flamingos were the best !

The seal lions on land were the most cutest, there were loads of baby ones and were really playful. The adults were just too lazy to play!

We got so close to them all.. and after a few days it became perfectly normal to have to step over a sea lion to get off the boat! It was a really
White tipped sharkWhite tipped sharkWhite tipped shark

No need to be scared hes a veggie (apparently)
magical time.

The islands themselves were stunning, white sandy beaches, clear waters.. some with red sandy beaches, some with solid lava from an old erruption.. was fab!

We had 16 people on our boat and and a great time on board too, we took a cheapish boat (the friendship). But got to see the same as those on an expensive boat and probably had more fun!! I loved EVERY minute of it...
I cannot believe that I have got to go ... a marine and land wildlife paradise. Ever since studying Charles Darwin and evolution.. I have wanted to go! I was sad to leave but I do know that one day I will have to come back here..


Just look at my pictures... they are just a few of them.. i have thousands!! its difficult not to be snap happy on the galaps! Hope you like them...

Now we are going back into the AMAZON!! last time on this trip... I can hear the insects getting ready for me!




Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Tropical fish Tropical fish
Tropical fish

One of thousands!!
FrigetFriget
Friget

With red throat.. its his mating call


Tot: 0.326s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 24; qc: 124; dbt: 0.2843s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb