Regalos!


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Galápagos
December 12th 2005
Published: December 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Regalos means gifts or presents in Spanish. Now Galapagos Islands is in its Christmas fever, and the locals are spending massively compared to normal. Everyone is expecting a gift or something, but there is one way of giving gifts to the community by hanging things on a post about 10 metres high! The post is normally made of bamboo, and they make sure to oil the post to make it difficult for any climber out there.
Just a few hours ago, I was riding on my rickety bicycle around the Puerto Ayora Island, I spotted some kind of festivity going on. As I approached the crowd, I saw people cheering up to a person who was struggling to climb up a bamboo post to get some presents. I thought it was easy, until I touched the post and feel the oil applied on it. However after a few adults failed, a young boy of about 13 took the presents home. Though I felt who ever reached the top deserved it, I didn't expect him to take all the presents. I thought who ever reached the top should choose one present and let someone else try. Anyways, everyone seemed happy and satisfied
The climbThe climbThe climb

The cheering up is going on as a climber makes a try!
at the end of the day.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Dropped out!Dropped out!
Dropped out!

A man dropped out after unsuccessful try!
A kid goes for it!A kid goes for it!
A kid goes for it!

A kid of about 13 years old, made it to the top!


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb