DARWIN'S GALAPAGOS


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Galápagos
May 5th 2005
Published: January 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After the Encounter overland trip finished in Caracas, I was convinced by Brian to join him in the Galapagos . He, along with others left for Quito on a different flight pre booked by Drago as they continue their trip from Ecuador, meanwhile I was booked on another flight. I asked Wilma or Brian if they can buy me Colombian coffee when they make a stop over in Bogota, which they did thanks so much, meanwhile my flight left Caracas and then turned back due to mechanical problems and we were so delayed I didn't get to Quito til midnight, by chance a Danish couple is staying at the Secret Garden like me so we carpooled and hire a taxi together. Got a dorm room and slept, next morning met up with the guys in their room, Brian made the girls go ahead from the airport, he was hoping to wait for me but soon noticed my flight was delayed so he made his way to the hostel. He claimed they saw Miss Venezuela at the Caracas airport but didn't get a photo, i really missed out a lot on this leg of the trip.

Anyway made the final payment for Galapagos, and off we go. there were eight of us in a small boat, all women except for me, Bry and the crew. Great trip, lots of snorkelling, hiking, nature walks etc. It was really a magnificent place, I had a terrific time, but the highlight of this trip is Brian teaching me how to dive down to get a closer look at the corals and fishes, i was scared at first, but if i can keep up snorkelling from island to island with them i thought i'll give it a try.
There were also nights when we lay down at the front of the boat and fall asleep under the stars.

Victoria,Laura, Maria, Katrina, Bodil, Brian and I on a boat might have been a disaster but it turned out ok, we were civil to each other, it was unlike when we were on the truck for 10 weeks and at each other's throat, I had a fantastic overland experience with this group, the bonding, the fighting! i hope all of us will look back at this experience and realize how silly we were then and that we miss each other. I am happy to say am still in touch with a number of them, but it seems the Danish are just glad to be rid of us. Anyway to our truck drivers Pete and Garth the Ferengi(by the way it was Joel who named you that), thanks for bringing us safely to Caracas, til we meet again.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb