Enchanted Isles


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Galápagos » Santa Cruz Island
November 26th 2008
Published: December 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

AeroGalAeroGalAeroGal

This wasn't your average "puddle jumper". It was a 727 that flew us to Baltra (Galapagos Isands).
Day 1 - We flew from Quito to Baltra island on a 727 jet. I had visions of flying to Baltra on a puddle jumper, but I was wrong. I was hoping to see Iguanas being chased off the runway, as I had heard these stories. The only creature I saw at the airport (besides tourists) were Lizards.

We were ferried over to Santa Cruz Island. Our ferry ride was entertaining, we saw a Sea Lion sitting on a dinghy and 2 Sea Turtles mating. We finally arrived at our boat.

I took this trip through Gap Adventures. Our boat (Gap Adventures I) also known as Pelikano was large enough for 16 tourists and 8 crew members. Perfect for me, I wouldn't want to have been on a large cruise ship as they can't get around some of those islands. Our rooms were small with 2 bunk beds. The last time I slept on a bunk bed was when I was a child. We had our own bathroom, it was pretty nice. Our dining area was pretty nice, and the meals were always fantastic.

Late in the afternoon, we took an excursion to the highlands of Santa Cruz.
AirportAirportAirport

Airport at Galapagos Islands - we flew into Baltra.
We saw Giant Galapagos Tortoises in the wild! I even had a picture of me inside a Giant Tortoise shell. They weren't too heavy which was surprising. When we got too close to the Tortoises, they would hiss. I was surprised to see some sitting in a pool of water, I didn't think they liked the water.

Our next stop was at a lava tunnel. At the entrance of the tunnel, was a Barn Owl and a Short Eared Owl.
The lava tunnel was fascinating, it had to been incredible when lava flowed through.

At midnight, we set sail for the Island of Floreana.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Our BoatOur Boat
Our Boat

Home sweet home for 8 days!
Tortoises in the wildTortoises in the wild
Tortoises in the wild

There were many Tortises.
Curios OneCurios One
Curios One

They are as curious about me as I am of them. If I get too close, they hiss and draw back into their shells.


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb