Galapagos - wow


Advertisement
Published: October 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hola once more, I´ve made it to the Galapagos and finally dipped a toe in the Pacific Ocean. My bag arrived on Wed morning at twenty passed 7am, then I hot footed it to the national airport to check in for my Galapagos flight for seven thirty so I had it in my possession for a total of ten minutes. The reunion at the airport was quite an emotional one to say the least! Much love to maria my home stay Mum who has been wonderful for Monday and Tuesday, literally nothing was too much bother and I have been invited back once I arrive back in Qutio in 6 weeks for good food and company. Flight to Galapagos was 3 hours, much longer than expected and I was very surprised at how many people were travelling here. It´s really not the remote island you think it is!! So surreal landing, the place is just amazing from the air, so many little islands, beautiful beaches, was very tearful as we landed being the science geek that I am, could feel the scientific vibes eminating, I am so lucky to be here and to witness Darwin did 150 years ago, he must have been so glad to hit land after sailing that long (science lesson over)! There was a gbunch on Ecuadorian kids on the plane ob on a field trip who cheered ´viva Ecuador´as we landed prompting applause from everybody! Was picked up in a SUV and taken to the highlands were the station is situated. 99 percent humidity, my bag has begun to grow mould already but just an fantastic view from our varanda. Thursday night lit some candles, chilled in hammocks and thought of nothing just listening to the sounds of the jungle happen. Hard work though, had to deweed the pinapple trees on Fri, I´m a pro with a machette now, you want to try walking down a 45degree incline in muddy boots, slipping and sliding with a 15 inch blade in your hand, scary. Many of my friends have been totaled by the Carmelita bugs but I ob have tasteless blood so am cueently sporting the least amount of bites the staion has ever see with my one on my leg. Oh and Mum you would hate it here as one of my roommates is a rather large Huntsman spider, sleeping just above my hammock! In town at moment, it seems the norm tyo head in Fri afternnon and leave on Sun, mainly to bring things to dry out, all my books and cash is one stuck mess, sleeping bag and clothes are soaked in damp! Drinks with volunteers last night on beach with the real residents close by, the sea lions and off on a snorkeling tour tomorrow of Las lobos islands to see the marine iguanas, hammerhead sharks and turtles, then swim though the centre of Kicker rock, Google it its fab. Am siging out now, next entry next week when in town again. How you are weell, and probably as wet as me!
xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb