Going to Isabella


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Galápagos » Isabela Island
January 4th 2009
Published: January 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The boat ride!The boat ride!The boat ride!

Only one person puked! I guess that is pretty good cause normally a lot more people are reaching for a barf bag!
Isabella

This last Friday though Tuesday I was at the other Island of Isabella which was a pretty sweet experience! It was great to get away from the island that I’ve been at the last couple of months! We went with the tenth grade class which aloud us to get tickets to and from Isabella at a discounted price. The boat ride to the Island is a two hour ride in this rinky little boat that waves rock around pretty good! I don’t get motion sickness very easy so it wasn’t bad for me, but there where a few that had to pull out the barf bags! Isabella is an AMAZING island! The town there is way smaller and there is just so much more wildlife! The streets are made of sand which is really cool and the people here where super friendly to us. We decided to camp which is only $3 per night per person where as a room is $15. We stayed in a place called the Jungle. It is a little bit of a walk from the main part of the city but well worth it! The place has lots of shaded hammocks and is only a 100 yard walk to the beach. While we where on Isabella we got a guided tour of the volcano Cerro Negro which is the second biggest volcano in the world width wise. That was cool and our guide was really good! He was a cousin to one of the students so we got to go for virtually free. The next day we did a bay tour and got to do some snorkeling!

The snorkeling here is probably the best I’ve ever done in my life! It was amazing!! Most likely a memory that will remain a better part of my life! The snorkeling here far out beats the snorkeling on Santa Cruz! Santa Cruz stinks compared to Isabella! On Isabella the water is clearer and there are just some really cool rock formations underneath the water. Lots of fish, sea lions and penguins, we saw some penguins but this time of year there really aren’t a whole lot since the water is a little warmer this time of the year. The best part where the sea lions! My first day snorkeling there I saw a sea lion out in the water. I swam over to it and when he saw me he started do spins and cartwheels under the water. I then started to mimic him and then he started doing more and more, jumping out of the water and everything! I then started going down to the bottom and blowing all of the air out of my lungs making lots of bubbles. He then started imitating me with the bubble blowing! It was just a really cool experience. After playing for a while I decided that I would go over and meet up with the rest of the group. To my surprise the sea lion followed me and kept playing with me the entire time I was snorkeling! It was an amazing experience and I’m sure it will be rare if something like that ever happens to me again! The next day we met up with another sea lion which as a group we where playing with him! This guy was crazy though! He would float on his back then do flips and when you dove down with him he would take his nose and press it right up against your mask! When he did that the first time it scared me to death! But after the first I got a little more comfortable with it! But yeah it was just an amazing thing to see! I am sad I had to return to Santa Cruz and I wish the school was at Isabella! Everything is better there! More to do and explore!

We did other stuff while we where there, we went to the muro de lagrimas, found a tunnel to explore that went into the ocean! So we brought our headlamps and explored that tunnel pretty good! Saw some flamingos in a lagoon nearby too! Isabella is an amazing island and I already miss it!



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Isabella!!Isabella!!
Isabella!!

It's a pretty sweet place!
We stayed hereWe stayed here
We stayed here

Pretty good place close to the beach!
Almost there!Almost there!
Almost there!

I figured I would try and climb the tree to get the coconut even though I could have reached up and grabbed it standing.
Cerro NegroCerro Negro
Cerro Negro

2nd largest volcano in the world, width wise


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb