Buen Noticias


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » East » Cosanga
March 9th 2006
Published: March 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey everybody, first I have to apologize, I don't have any pictures to share this time. I'm in Quito and I didn't want to bring my camera along for the ride. The internet at the station isn't working right now, so I couldn't make an entry from there. As soon as it's up again, I'll post some pictures.

But enough chit chat, on to the good news- I'm going to Cornell next fall to start my doctorate!! I was accepted and I have a fellowship, everything is a go. I'm going to study the behavioral ecology of nighthawks on the tallgrass prairie in Kansas. So I'll be in Kansas for the summer and Cornell the rest of the year. I'm very excited, this is almost unbelievably good news!

As for what's been going on at the station, it's been pretty good. The night of the day I wrote my last entry, I got lost in the forest. It was pretty scary. I had to go out at dusk to collect some cameras in a part of the forest that I really wasn't familiar with, and it got dark really quickly and I stupidly didn't have a light. I was only lost for about an hour when someone from the station heard me hollering and came to rescue me. It was pretty crazy. Now I can definitely understand why the early white explorers referred to the jungle as "green hell." Since then I have gotten to know that part of the forest really well, and I would never get lost again. In that part, at least.

Also, I've finished a pretty good draft of my quetzal article. We're (Harold and I) working on improving and editing it. Since then I've started working with a old Cinnamon Flycatcher data set that Harold has. Days have been pretty relaxed and I help out on other projects when needed. I'm looking forward to what promises to be a big dancing in the streets party tomorrow night, the big parochial bash in Cosanga.

I have a little less than two weeks left at the station, then I'm coming back to the good old US of A. In truth, I miss it. I like the US. So, could you guys make sure there's no more cold weather after March 24th please? Well, I'm super excited about Cornell and about coming home soon. I promise to send pictures soon!

Advertisement



13th March 2006

Congratulations
Wow! Becky, we are so proud of you. What an interesting life you are living. Mom and Dad told us more great news about Cornell! I have been loving your pictures and look forward to seeing more! Love, Aunt Karla

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb