In Ecuador


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Centre » Central Highlands
February 15th 2007
Published: February 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Well, I´m in Ecuador now!!! Sue and I are in a small town near Cayambe about 1.5 hours north of Ecuador. The town is La Esperanza. We are living with a family and taking Spanish and Cultural classes. This is the hardest thing I have ever done in my life, but it is amazing at the same. Our family has three members, Fabiola (mi madre), Andres (mi hermano) and Santiago (mi otro hermano). Santiago and I are buds - he is 8 and we play together. He has one of my favorite Dr. Suess books The Places You´ll Go - written in Spanish. I saw it the first night and we read it together every night.

The food is amazing - fresh fruit and produce. Soup is the primary food for lunch and dinner and the soups are incredible. The cheese here is like mozarella and is very good. There are so many unique foods, I´ve tried them all - when offered. Yesterday I ate a chicken heart and my familia had a fiesta for Valentine´s Day. The killed to conejos (rabbits) and I had some of that as well. I have not had the Cuyes yet (guinea pig) - I am sure that I will soon though.

Outside our home are many mountains and volcanoes. Most of which are 16,000 - 20,000 feet high. They say that when at the top of Mt. Chimporazo (spelling) you are the closest to the sun a human can be - because you are at the equator and the earth bulges a bit at the equator.

We find out in 4 weeks where we will be stationed and we are anxiously waiting in anticipation for that moment.

The language is muy dificil. Susan has jumped in and mastered it. I on the other hand struggle, but that is normal. They assure me that in 10 weeks I will be able to communicate effectively. I can do that now, but I am sure I sound like an idiot.

The Ecuadorian people are so nice and considerate. Families are very close and spend a lot of time together. Our house has a tv and a computer (no internet), a hot shower, and a refrig, but that is it. No car, no freezer, no microwave, etc etc etc. After Sue and I had been at our house for an hour, our host mother left to go to church and left us with her 8 year-old, what trust!!!

I wish I could write more at this juncture, but time is limited. I miss you all and look forward to sharing my adventures with you.

Advertisement



16th February 2007

We miss you Kizzing! Glad to hear all is well with you and adjusting to your new home :) We'll look forward to hearing about all of your new experiences! Hello to Sue!
16th February 2007

Awesome
This is so Awesome for you both! Enjoy, Have a blast! Congrats! Wow, what an opportunity! You are going to learn sooo much so fast! Best of Luck!

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0796s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb