Sunburn, Soldiers and being Scared


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Villa de Leyva
June 13th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Villa De LeyvaVilla De LeyvaVilla De Leyva

A gorgeous 16th century village
We initially had some excitement planned for our next day in Colombia; visiting a bulletproof vest factory, and testing one out. Yes, that´s right, the brave amongst us could try on a vest and be shot at. Unfortunately they were going to charge too much for the "ruined vests", so we didn´t do it in the end.

So, we drove four hours north of Bogota to the beautiful village of Villa De Leyva. Founded in 1533, it remains untouched by modern architecture, retaining all the original buildings. If it wasn´t for the occasional car lurching along it´s cobbled streets, you´d think you´d been transported back to the sixteenth century. We were staying at a more modern place however, a gorgeous lodge in the hills about 30 minutes walk from the village.

On my first walk into town, I noticed a bunker made of sandbags manned by an army soldier in camouflage gear. An army presence in such a tranquil village? I later asked our host about this, and he said it is quite normal in certain villages throughout Colombia. The soldiers guard against guerrilla insurgencies and also perform some of the ancillary police services alongside the local constabulary. Despite
The Main SquareThe Main SquareThe Main Square

of Villa De Leyva
having a population of only 2,000 people, Villa De Leyva has 15 army personnel stationed around the village.

One morning we visited a beautiful blue lake in the mountains. This part of Colombia was different to how I had pictured the country, it was arid and very rugged. This day will be forever known as "The Day Of The Sunburn." How many times have you ever been sunburnt? I´ll wager it´s been a few. But the thing is, we never learn, do we? High Altitude + Hot Sun + Pale Englishman = A Bad Combination. Ideally I should have been using Factor 80 (which is a balaclava) whilst splashing around in the lake. My poor back got the worst of it. You could have used my back for an advert for Danish Bacon. It was pinker than Graham Norton´s handbag. By that evening, my back was giving off so much heat, I was setting off fire alarms in the local restaurants. I had heat blisters and couldn´t lie on my back for three days.

Another afternoon we did some cool adventure activities. We drove to the wilderness about 40 minutes from the village. Hidden in a woodland was
Sunburn CentralSunburn CentralSunburn Central

Don´t let this nice picture of rolling countryside fool you. A sweltering furnace and a danger to English backs!
a deep crater with a couple of trees desperately clinging to it´s vertical walls. I peered anxiuosly down, and I couldn´t see the bottom in the blackness. Our plan was to abseil down into the crater, and then climb back out using the tree´s roots and branches. Unfortunately, I have a slight fear of heights! Although not really a huge problem. Part of the thrill of these activities is the adrenaline rush, and my fear just adds to the buzz. I guess I just like being scared. By the time I got to the bottom, I was sweating profusely and my hands were shaking. The climb back up was pretty tough on the arms and shoulders, but such a sense of achievement when I got back to the top. Love it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Our hillside lodgeOur hillside lodge
Our hillside lodge

a tough afternoon in the hammocks
The CraterThe Crater
The Crater

Notice the tree at the back, clinging precariously to the wall. This was our escape route, by climbing up it´s trunk and branches
The Abseil TeamThe Abseil Team
The Abseil Team

Our trembling team attempts to show no fear
The DescentThe Descent
The Descent

Damn, this harness is tight on my gentleman´s bits!


26th June 2007

copper top
Being more than a bit ginger might have something to do with your sun tolerance Dogstar ;-) Really enjoying this mate. See they put you in the girls' abseil team!! Keep up the good work and have lots of fun little fella. Dogstar
27th June 2007

columbia
i like the way you carfully plan you 1st stop on your trip in Columbia... i bet you will be visiting a few chocolate factories!?

Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 35; qc: 155; dbt: 0.107s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb