Missing Minca


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Santa Marta » Taganga
March 6th 2010
Published: March 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So let me try to bring you quickly up to speed with yesterday's events.

Shouldn't take long!

I woke up yesterday with the idea in my head that I would go to Minca - or "Manky" as a fellow hosteller mistakenly called it! It's supposed to be a really truly beautiful place. And as I woke I was full of verve and spirit. Then I sat down to write some emails and catch up on the blog and I was just MELTING by the pool. So I jumped into the pool at the hostel...and somehow I just never made it to Minca.

It's easy to forget that it's rare that I go out and do something every day, even when I'm at home....I always feel that I SHOULD be out there seeing something new and meeting new people...but I think that it's equally important just to take time to enjoy the moment sometimes - and that's exactly what I did yesterday. Certainly helped me to recover a bit from the hard day in Tayrona.

The highlight of the day was dinner at Pachamama's in Taganga - the steak was awsome, the cocktails pretty good, and the nice thing was that it seemed that everybody that I knew in Taganga was there. They also had a very cool parrot which I almost picked up before reminding myself that I don't much like being bitten by budgies - and a parrot has a serious beak...so I didn't.

Walking back along the main street, I was surprised that the local nightclub (an aptly named "Sensations" - apt if your idea of a sensation is to have your brain pounded to a pulp by reggaeton and be left with your eardrums bleeding) wasn't busier. But it's good that it wasn't. I bypassed the club and headed straight back for an early-ish night. Today would be a 6.30 start for me. I've been as far north as I'm coming on this trip - now it's down to Cartagena...

...but I'll tell you about that tomorrow.

Hasta luego!

PS: This is an abysmally short post isn't it?!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.9kb