How do I know that I don´t like to trek?


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Santa Marta » Ciudad Perdida
November 11th 2006
Published: March 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Motley CrewMotley CrewMotley Crew

Sean´s generously shared his photos

I know because I tried it, finding the Lost City. Yes trekking through Colombian jungle, up and down and up craggy rocks and slippery rocks and some more rocks, but that was after the many colours of mud and tiny path ways and before the multiple river crossing and then finally up 2000 + round rocks covered in moss that they like to call steps.

I spent 6 days and a considerable amount of money to find out that I hate trekking and never plan to do such a foolish thing again. I got back yesterday and I’ve been told that when time passes and the swelling goes down from both ankles and the blisters are a mere vague memory that I will feel great about my achievement. We’ll see.

I’ve let time pass, it’s December and I’ve had plenty of time to think about and I can safely say that I feel exactly the same about the experience I am about to recount. So many different ways to describe the pain and torture that I had signed myself up for flashed through my head at the time; the one’s I remember will be used as headers to
Ciudad Perdida3Ciudad Perdida3Ciudad Perdida3

Sierra Nevada, Colombia
mark each day and its pleasures.





Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Ciudad PerdidaCiudad Perdida
Ciudad Perdida

Sierra Nevada, Colombia
Ciudad Perdida5Ciudad Perdida5
Ciudad Perdida5

Sierra Nevada, Colombia
Ciudad Perdida4Ciudad Perdida4
Ciudad Perdida4

Sierra Nevada, Colombia
Ciudad Perdida6Ciudad Perdida6
Ciudad Perdida6

Sierra Nevada, Colombia
Ciudad Perdida7Ciudad Perdida7
Ciudad Perdida7

Sierra Nevada, Colombia
Ciudad Perdida8Ciudad Perdida8
Ciudad Perdida8

Sierra Nevada, Colombia
Ciudad Perdida9Ciudad Perdida9
Ciudad Perdida9

Sierra Nevada, Colombia
Ciudad Perdida10Ciudad Perdida10
Ciudad Perdida10

Sierra Nevada, Colombia
Bunch of CraziesBunch of Crazies
Bunch of Crazies

band of merry trekkers, all having had experience they knew what they had let themselves in for.
Ciudad Perdida12Ciudad Perdida12
Ciudad Perdida12

Sierra Nevada, Colombia
Ciudad Perdida13Ciudad Perdida13
Ciudad Perdida13

Sierra Nevada, Colombia
Ciudad Perdida14Ciudad Perdida14
Ciudad Perdida14

I don't really like taking pictures of people I don't know. Seems cheeky somehow, but this time I got the courage up to ask their permission.
Ciudad Perdida15Ciudad Perdida15
Ciudad Perdida15

Sierra Nevada, Colombia
Ciudad Perdida16Ciudad Perdida16
Ciudad Perdida16

Sierra Nevada, Colombia


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb