My first adventure in San Gil...paragliding with the birds!


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » San Gil
September 15th 2008
Published: September 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I left Bogota to San Gil so that I could do some paragliding. I wanted to do it in Medellin the week before, but never woke up early enough. So here I came to this small town in the Santander region after a 7 hour bus ride north from Bogota. I arrived in the town...very well kept, active, but not overwhelming. It has a beautiful plaza with a fountain, lots of trees, and benches full of local families, couples, friends, and food vendors. The church is quite old, big, and well maintianed as well. The best part was that I stepped off the bus and was sweating again...I was soooo happy to be out of the cold in Bogota and back into warm weather...but not too warm, just right!

I immediately got a taxi to the only hostel in town...Maconda. It is owned by an Aussie who has all the best hook ups in town for adventure sports...great guides for cheap prices! Sounds good!

I began my days of adventure sports with paragliding...even though I had no clue what it actually was. I just knew that it takes you high up into the air and the guide comes with you...cool, sign me up! I ended up with a great group of other backpackers...as always...who were also in town in search of some adrenaline...San Gil style. So off we went...10 crazy extranjeros from England, Spain, US, Australia, and one Colombiana with 3 crazy Colombian paragliders/guides all packed into the usual VW van. Up out of town and into the hills and countryside we went...of course blaring vallenato the whole way. Oh yeah...we first stopped by the company's office to pay the $15, sign our lives away, and weigh ourselves...I made sure not to lie...I don't want any mistakes made with the equipment!

We drove our way onto a dirt road high up into the hills into tobacco farms, stopping on the top of one of the hills and farms. We chatted with the owners of the farm who were working on drying and seperating the harvested tobacco leaves. After a brief climb, we were at the top of the hill...which would become both our launching and then landing pad. The guides unpacked and prepared the equipment of harnesses, helmets, and parachutes. Then it was time to wait for the wind! Once the wind arrived, off we went in threes! I got to go in the last group of 3...thank goodness I wasn't first! Taking off and landing were the trickiest parts, but not for us...for the guides. Thank goodness both of mine were smooth. The ride was amazing...one moment you are standing on solid ground, the next you are picked right up into the air...high high up...climbing with the wind in one swift, smooth motion. It is so smooth, quiet, peaceful, and light up there! Higher and higher we flew...until suddenly our group below us were barely visible. Then once the guide thinks you are ready for the real fun, he quickly pulls to one side and sends us twirling like a whirlpool rapidly down in a spiral. Wow! What a rush...like a combination of being on a huge, unattached swing, and a trackless rollercoaster...great fun!


Additional photos below
Photos: 63, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



16th September 2008

I'm SSSSSOOOOO jealous...
It looks like you are having an amazing time. Where are you going to be the beginning of April? I might come join you for a week!
17th September 2008

hey girl! Not sure where I will be...but I will let you know...maybe somewhere in the Amazon. :)

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb