Misunderstandings


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Cartagena
July 22nd 2011
Published: July 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone, sorry for the short entry yesterday but the school closed at 3 so I got kicked out :-)
I just wanted to let you know that I am still very much working on my spanish and confusing my host family day after day.. For instance: During the weekend I got blisters from my flipflops, at the beach later the sprung open and filled with sand, so I basically had sand in my feet, and it huuuuuurt.! This is what I wanted to tell my family. I thought the spanish word for sand was the same as in Frech ans I was like: Yo tengo sable en mi pie.. BUT what I didnt know is that sable in spanish means sword, ao all evening I was actually saying; "I have swords in my feet and they hurt!" Hihi, no wonder they kept looking so condused :-) The same thing with highschool: I thought the word for high school was the same as in Germans: Gymnasio.. So i wanted ti tell my family that some of my friends had learnt Spanish at Highschool, but what I actually was saying is, that my friends had learnt Spanish at the gym :-) Because gymnasio in Spanish means gym.. One last example: When my family and I went to the beach, we took the bus, which is a bit edgy and drives through not-so-nice neighborhoods. So they kept pointing at people and saying "indigenas" which i thought were indian people like mayas and incas or such. An i kept saying "Si? Oh, muy interesante!" Thats when I got the -anna-doesnt-get-it.-again look. So at school yesterday I found out that indigenas means homeless people... Ooooookay..
So now its the weeken so you will hear from me monday again!
Buen fin de semana!
Besitos

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb