200 miles in 45 hours


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Cartagena
July 16th 2005
Published: February 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I had dreamed of buying a sale boat and traveling the world with the power of the wind, going through beautiful landscapes and meeting lots of people everywhere I stopped. I was obviously a fool. Sailing is a lot harder than I thought. I had sailed before in Sweden, thanks to my good friend Erik, hope all is well, bro. But that was very different than the open ocean. First of all there was little wind most of the time and we had to keep the noisy engine running the whole way. Even with little wind there were lots of waves, especially when we were going around a storm that we could see several hours in advance. The waves were so large that I got seasick and vomited on the side of the boat. The boat felt a lot more crowded now that we couldnĀ“t leave and swim to an island and sleeping was very difficult, day or night. We ate very little during the two days cause everyone was seasick. What was most despairing was watching the speed we were moving: barely over 4 miles per hour.
When we could finally see Cartagena from a distance I felt so happy that I almost jumped in the ocean and swam the rest of the way. I would probably have arrived before the boat, it still took us three hours to get to Cartagena after we first saw it.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1197s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb