Road Trip Awaits


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile
May 20th 2005
Published: May 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Today was a quite eventful day. I woke up this morning to meet up with Emi for my first day with my internship at UPLA (University of Playa Ancha, Valparaíso). Before we headed to the most beautiful University campus I have ever seen (sarcasm) we had went to take care of my situation with the STA travel office here in Viña del Mar. After a long discussion trying to explain the situation that I had encountered regarding the mistake made my Delta everything was finally resolved....I think. I then headed to the office with Emi so that she could show me the ropes of the internship with UPLA. The best part of the office is the view of the beach. Luckily the building that I am performing this internship is located in a loft that has the most beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean. After so much hard work and dedication today (again, sarcasm) we decided to head out to go have some lunch. Emi and I had gone to her place to go and pick up some laundry for her to have done and to check to see if she had water or not. Emi is not a happy camper and well...neither would I be if that happened to me. She said she feels like she is camping having to use a huge bottle of water in order to brush her teeth, wash her hands, wash her face, etc. Apparently, Oscar hasn't paid her water bill for the past few months and it was cut off and she hasn't had water since yesterday. After doing some complaining about Oscar we headed out to drop off the laundry and have some lunch. When we got to the laundry place, Jennie and Carina were there to see if we wanted to take a road trip to La Serena further in the north of Chile. Yesterday Jennie had told me that her and Carina were planning on taking a trip to the south of Chile and asked if I had wanted to go. It had changed to the north because the south is having really bad weather conditions. At this point I still was not 100% sure if I could take the trip considering I really want to go to Buenos Aires. It sounded so fun and I wanted to go, that wasn't the problem. So, Jennie and Carina had gone across the street to go and find out about renting a car while Emi and I stayed to eat lunch. When they returned Carina approached me and wrapped her arms around my neck and said "PLEASE AMANDA GO WITH US". They had encountered a problem about getting to go or not. In order to rent a car here in Chile you must be at least 23 years old. Unfortunately the only person within the group that was old enough was me (at least out of those considering to go). Emi was certain that she was not going so the decision was placed upon me. If I didn't take the trip, then they weren't taking the trip. But I wanted to take the trip, but was uncertain if I could take the trip. So it was quite a dificult situation and you could literally see the wheels turing in all of our heads as we sat there in silence at the dinner table. I was in quite a pickle and not being very assertive it was difficult for me to make a decision. We estimated prices for how much it would cost to go and I looked into my budget to see how it all looked and said if it weren't too unreasonable I could manage it. So tomorrow morning I will be taking a road trip to explore the 4th region of Chile in La Serena. For our departure party we hung out with Emi at Hotel Viña del Mar (part of the Mafia, owned by Oscar's dad) since she still didn't have any water. Oscar had placed her in a hotel until the problem is resolved. During the visit, we enjoyed the wet bar, had some pizza, and watched some Sleepless in Seattle (I think). Carina got a little sappy, a side none of has had seen before...but cute. After about midnight we decided to head to the house and get some sleep for our Road Trip that Awaits. Driving in Chile here we come....WOW!!

Advertisement



20th May 2005

It's kinda cool being older though!
Well, at least you did want to go anyways! That sounds like a whole lot of fun! I can't believe you are seeing the Pacific Ocean! I am so envious! Oh well! Hope you have a great time girlie! - Nicki
20th May 2005

Please BE CAREFUL driving in Chile, if they drive any thing like those in Mexico you might be in for a wild ride. I will be thinking of you... have fun. (Isnt it the weirdest thing to be the oldest in the group... since working on my Master's I have found that to be strange... I was ALWAYS the baby of the group) Love ya - Randi
20th May 2005

Taking a Trip up north
k lil miss thang lets head out on the open road!!! Sounds like u had some tough decision making to deal with, but im glad u decided to go. U needed a break from all the stress that Damn Delta put u through.Haha Im sure in the next journal it will be all about the lovely trip up there and back. Cant wait. Sorry this one is soo short these next couple of days are going to be extremely busy but i just wanted to say hi an that i love an miss u dearly!!! - SASSY
21st May 2005

Road trip
How did I know that you were gonna take that trip. I know how you are and besides, it'll be another adventure. I just want to know who did the driving? I'm sure I'll find out. Have loads of fun and lots of pics. Love ya - Angela
23rd May 2005

Can't wait to hear about it!
Can't wait to hear how your road trip went. Sounds like a lot of fun and I hope you enjoyed yourself and everything worked out for you. Can't wait to hear details. I miss you so much and I am so glad I am caught up on your travel blog now. I got a little behind but I love this thing. I love hearing about your days and your adventures. I so wish I was there with you. XOXOXOXOX - Brooke

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb