Carretera Austral


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile
January 20th 2005
Published: January 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

The Carretera Austral is a dirt road that extends for more than 500 miles from Chaiten to Coyhaique. The scenery is stunning and the region some of the wildest countryside I´ve ever passed through. I wish I had been able to stop and take better photos. I took most of these while the van I was riding in was moving. Magnificent Miles!




Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Ventisquero ColganteVentisquero Colgante
Ventisquero Colgante

Leaving the Parque Nacional Queulat and the Ventisquero Colgante. I didn´t want to leave so soon.
Carretera AustralCarretera Austral
Carretera Austral

This Mitsubishi van took a beating. I felt sorry for the driver who told me he has to repair the suspension every 2 months.
Carretera AustralCarretera Austral
Carretera Austral

Glaciers Everywhere!
Carretera AustralCarretera Austral
Carretera Austral

A small town along the way. Time passes so slow. How wonderful!
Carretera AustralCarretera Austral
Carretera Austral

Lago Las Torres (Tower Lake)
Carretera AustralCarretera Austral
Carretera Austral

What majestic works of nature!
Carretera AustralCarretera Austral
Carretera Austral

The first sign of rain on my trip. Geeting close to the provincial city of Coyhaique.
Carretera AustralCarretera Austral
Carretera Austral

Hello Coyhaique. Next stop on the trip, the might peaks of the famous Nacional Park Torres del Paine and the mystique of Tierra del Fuego and the (south)end of the world


Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.091s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb