Portillo


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile
July 20th 2007
Published: July 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Portillo is the name of the second ski resort I went to in Chile. I am lagging on doing these updates as it was almost 2 weeks ago that I left. So I should be sending a new update real soon with the last 2 weeks. But anyways, Portillo was really fun. I was a little disappointed in the terrain, but still had a great time. Bec and I got in close with a group of people that was staying there during our week. So it made up for the snowboarding not being that great. And thankfully we got a storm that blessed us with powder turns on our last day. The storm also brought a lot of wind. So much that a gust blew the door to the balcony right off the hinges (photo below) at 5 in the morning.

Portillo was like a cruse boat in the mountains. The hotel had everything included. 4 meals a day! A giant out door pool and jacuzzi. Spa, sauna, work out room and even a basketball court. Also had a bar and it's own club. The hotel was pretty cool, aside from it being painted fly yellow. It was the old train station at the mountain pass between Argentina & Chile. Now it sits on the main trucking pass between the countries. Check out the video of the crazy chair that goes over the road.

Well I'll let the photos tell the rest of the story. Oh, and quick little update from today. I got offered a job at a hostel here in Bariloche, Argentina...and I took it. I start next week. I'll be working the night shift at the front desk for 5 hours a day. It's a pretty cool hostel. It's on the 10 floor of the tallest building in town. Has some great views and the people that work there are really chill. It should really help me with my spanish. Check it out: http://www.lamoradahostel.com/1004_english.html

Miss y'all. Hope all is well back home. And to my family, I'm thinking about you all a lot. I know tomorrow is a big day!

I also added some videos from Valle Nevado. OK, the videos aren't happening. I'll try it next time...



Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.066s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb