funny encounters in Chile


Advertisement
Published: April 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Feeling much better now, after I was sick I stopped by a call centre and had a cry to my family, then fish rang me while I was in the supermarket trying to figure out what wouldn't make me more sick anmd had a cry to him as well. ah, the joys of travelling solo, no one to look after you or feed you, everything is by yourself and most of the time it makes you feel like shit until you meet someone awesome which is always the best part 😉

After sleeping in and not leaving the hostel for a few days i decided to push myself out the door and head for Valperiso, a beautiful city 2 hours away from Santiago and a verty popular tourtist spot. As I left I remember thinking to myself, my god I wish I would just walk into someone who would just say hell yeah i'll go to Valperiso with you and I was thinking the chances of that were pretty slim. So, as I walked out this door I saw this cute guy who I was looking at while I was in the hostel and I said hey what you doing and he was doing groceries or something and wasn't keen on going, 2 seconds later he runs up from behind me and says hell yeah i'll go to Valperiso with you and he did... eh, celestine prophecy much?! i think so.
As it turns out, this guy who i thought was a 30 something year old was in fact only 19 from California and i was thinking he was a little too young for me but now looking back I don't think he was too young, he was just right in fact, extremly gorgeous, whoah...
it's funny, bc i'm actually attaching him to my blogs, so he's gonna read this at home feeling all embarassed and shit, but who cares i think all these experiences have been great and any experience is a good one... right? right.

So Valperiso, it's a beautiful city with colourful houses stacked on top of eachother, some falling apart and lots of dirt and debrise and smog floating around, and again, heaps of stray dogs and cats and poor people sitting laizily on corners. it's got a nice feel to it though, i really enjoyed it.

The next few days were very chilled out, just hung around the city and La Casa Roja and ate ice cream and talked a lot which was good.

Tuesday morning came and i was leaving Santiago to catch a 9.30am bus to Mendoza (in Argenrina), Stu gave me the wrong directions to the bus terminal so I walked for 25 minutes from the hostel to the WRONG end of Ave Brasil with this enormous whale on my back weighing close to 16 kilos, while cursing his name under my breath the entire time. I was suprisingly strong and much fitter than before, but I was no match for this god aweful bag, which had way too much shit and isn't even fitted to me.
At 9.20 i was officially lost so I hailed 4 different cabs, non spoke any english of course and i was desperetly trying to get to my bus which is due to leave at 9.30am. i thought i had no chance, but i didn't want to go back to the hostel so i soldiered on.
I really didn't know where i was going and my spanish stinks and i kept trying to show them what a bridge was with hand movements, withouyt even saying the word. After searching though my day pack frantically for some sign of an address i scribbled on teh back of one of the millions of tiny pieces of papers i had in my bag... i miraculously found it in the nick of time!
i got out of the cab, ran in what seemed to be and probablly was slow motion to the front desk and shouted out por favour senorita! keiserra boletta a mendoza ahora!!
which means, please give me a ticket to mendoza right now basically.
With her eyebrowes raised she put her sandwich down, ran from behind the desk towards me and grabbed my arm and we both bolted for the bus which was allready taking off.
I had no ticket, was sweating profusely and out of breath muttering muchos gracias to this sweet lady over and over.
As I boarded, this 40 something year old man who was like the bus coordinator guy, lets call him creepy bus man, anyway, creepy bus man showed me so much affection on the bus and wouldn't leave me alone for a second. I sat down behind a couple, fuinally took a breath and looked out the window and this fucking guy sitting infront of me decided now was the time to move his seat back and he crushed my poor feet and i shouted in pain so loud everyone int eh bus turned around and looked at me. great, what a morning!!
to make things worse, the creepy bus man guy decided to tell me how amazin i was, yeah like i dont allready know! anyway, he tookl photos of me while i was sleeping, told me how breautiful he thinks i am and game me this jesus badge thing and tea and cookies, he even game a huge discount on my ticket, which mhe baught for me and i had to pay him back... it was sweet, but he wouldnt leave me alone for two seconds! my god chilean people are crazy!!!! and wayyy too trusting.
why is it only the creepy bus man people that tell me these things? so frustrating!!
anyway, i am now staying in a hostel called Wincas in Mendoza with two girls from Oragon who are pretty cool and i dont know what im doing next and i dont care as lñong as it wasn't like today.
later, love you all
deb


Advertisement



5th April 2006

IM JEALOUS
Hey Deb, SOunds like a day in hell but sounds pretty nice anyways....LIke i told you on msn and all my other comments im pretty fucking jealous!!!!!! DOn't be surprised if you bump into me somewhere in South America! :) EMAIL ME WOMAN!!!!! Talk to you later skank! Love Jen

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.077s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb