Valparaiso! What is this thing called "calm"?


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Valparaíso Region » Valparaíso
February 17th 2009
Published: February 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Drive through the Andes from Angentina to ChileDrive through the Andes from Angentina to ChileDrive through the Andes from Angentina to Chile

I don´t know if you can see the road that winds all the way down the mountain in a series of S curves...
Hello! Here I am in Valparaiso, Chile. I took the bus-ride across the Andes yesterday from Mendoza. It was quite a striking trip, with the winding roads zigzagging their way up and down through the mountains. The border crossing was long - and slightly absurd - with a very exhausted-looking dog running around inspecting our luggage. We all had to get off the bus and stand there with our hand luggage while various suitcases were being examined.

I am staying in a hostel (Patti Perro, highly recommended) in the Cerra Alegre which is a very scenic, and very tourist-friendly, area up the hill. When I say "up the hill" I am referring to the fact that most of the city is constructed up the steep cliff which surrounds the harbour. You can take one of many rickety old cable cars to get up the hill ("ascenseurs") or you can just walk up.

I spent much of today with a very nice girl from Oregon. We walked around downtown and quickly decided that we preferred to be up on the hill near our hostel, which is chock-full with beautifully painted houses, flowers, cafes, restaurants, and artisan shops. It is SO wonderful to smell the sea air, to hear the seagulls, and watch the sun setting over the harbour. I feel so incredibly relaxed here... it is actually quite shocking!

I have to say, I REALLY like what I¨ve seen of Chile so far!! Even through the window during my bus ride, I could see right away that Chile was cleaner (less garbage, more well-maintained), the driving is WAY more reasonable, the streets are more pedestrian-friendly, and in general, people here seem a bit healthier and more vital. I guess that has a lot to do with the better economic situation here. I certainly enjoyed going to the grocery store today where there was all kinds of selection... we really are spoiled in Canada!

Tomorrow I head over to Santiago for a few days. More soon...


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb