Chile - new trip - day 1


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region
April 9th 2015
Published: April 9th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I'm back. Surprise. We are traveling again. Just the two of us. It was supposed to be four but circumstances changed and it's two and as much as we will miss our companions, I'm pretty psyched to do an adventure with just Fran. Ok, adventure might be an overstatement. Eight days in Chile is not like going to say, Vietnam and Cambodia, but it's a place we've never been where they speak a language that I think I can get by with but can't and my attempts result in those with good manners smiling and nodding and everybody else laughing at the asshole gringo. Fran' efforts to communicate in Spanish are interesting. She just talks English with a Spanish accent assuming that will work. Now don't we all do that when we're with people with accents? Don't we mimic their accents unconsciously? Yes we do. Writing this I'm determined to speak either Spanish or English but not to embarrass myself with Spanglish this week.

Anyway, we landed in Santiago at 7 this morning after an 8 1/2 flight from Miami. Sleep was as sleep is on an overnight flight, but, and this is a very big deal, there's only a one hour time change here so after our two hour drive to Santa Cruz and the Lapostolle vineyard and residences http://www.relaischateaux.com/apalta , after a shower and a short nap, we were ready to go. Lunch! But before lunch I want to tell you that this place is beautiful. Our Casita is located on a hill overlooking the vineyard and a valley. The weather is fantastic; clear skies, maybe 70 degrees, light breeze. It's pretty darn wonderful. Not just that, lunch, outside on the terrace, was an opportunity to try 3 different wines and one aperitif with a three course lunch and desert . Wine one, a Rose from Lapostolle - surprisingly good and great for the appetizers, little finger food things that Fran likes and for me, meh. Wine two, a Sauvingon Blanc from Lapostolle. Not being SB fans, we weren't impressed, but we drank it. Wine three, a red blend from Lapostolle, one of their Alpata wines, meaning all the grapes from this winery and the vineyard I'm looking at right now - a blend of Carmenere, Cabernet and Merlot - it was really good. Desert wine, not really wine but Grand Marnier. The owner of the Chateau is a French lady who is a descendant of the Marnier family. Great lunch, enjoyable wines and then, a tour of the winery and wine tasting. Great tour, great winery, lots of new Oak Barrels, lots of tastings and it's just 4 o'clock. Going to nap now. Get ready for dinner and some more wine. As my niece Emily would write, OMG. It this post is a little muffed, i have no idea why.

David

Advertisement



11th April 2015

Translator
Hi David & Fran, when I told Carolyn that you were going to Chile, the first thing she said was they will need a translator, and I am just the woman to do it. She is fluent in English, Spanish, & Portuguese, and is such a world-class traveler (think My Cousin Vinnie), that she thinks she would be a wonderful addition to any future trips. She is just learning French for the record. Now for the serious part. I really enjoy following your travels, and I think the dogs do too. I bring copies to read to them, although it is not truly a bedtime story, they do yawn, but I think that is out of habit, not boredom. Have fun, and I am on to your next post! With Love & Respect, Tom & Carolyn

Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0679s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb