Drinking the traditional drink -Mote Con Huesillos, and a trip to the Fish Market, Mercado Central


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region
January 30th 2015
Published: February 16th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Inspired by the information I’d just read in Quinta Park I immediately went off to try the national drink of Chile, called ‘Mote con Huesillos’ – it’s a very cold, sweet drink made with ice, sweetcorn and coca cola. In my opinion this is something you try once and only once. Like my experience of scubadiving, you need to do it a few times before you really appreciate. In scuba diving you need to get used to the breathing and carrying heavy oxygen tanks. With this drink you would need to drink it every day to become both addicted and immune to the horrible taste.

Then hungry, I headed off to the famous ‘Mercado Central’ fish market. There was a lot of hussle and bustle, fishmongers shouting all different types of fish at me, nearly all I hadn’t heard of. I made my way through the market with fishy water swilling around my feet. I loved seeing the different types of fish, it cast my mind back to Leeds market and the afternoons I could spend comparing prices and quality of fish after popping by the Carribean café. The prices in Leeds market don’t differ between stalls and was nothing compared to the variety of fish sold at this market. I gave into my fishy tendencies and stopped by Tio Blanco, a fish restaurant which had been recommended to me and ate a regular fried fish with salad.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.326s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1063s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb