Valparaiso & Santiago


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region
April 22nd 2009
Published: May 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

18/04/09 - 22/04/09

After arriving in Santiago on 17/04 and having a last (tour) group meal together I once again had the freedom to do what I wanted and when I wanted, which was something I had been looking forward to for a week or two. I enjoyed the 5 weeks from Buenos Aires to Santiago and saw some amazing scenary along the way but now I was ready to set forth on my own.

On Sunday 19/04 I took a bus to the coastal town of Valparaiso, about 2 hours north west of Santiago. Valparaiso is a port town and was the leading merchant port along the Cape Horn and Pacific Ocean routes and was once Chile's financial powerhouse. Its demise began after an eathquake in 1906 and the opening of the Panama Canal in 1914. Today it is a World Heritage Site and a little rough around the edges but famous for its 'acsencores' (lifts) built on the steep slopes in the city between 1883 and 1916 and still (just about) functional.

I had a pleasant 24 hours in the city, wandering around the curvy, steep roads and taking a few ascensores for the experience and to save my legs!

I returned to Santiago on Monday 20/04 and spent the next 3 days in Santiago wandering around and generally chilling out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

SantiagoSantiago
Santiago

Presidential Palace
SantiagoSantiago
Santiago

Presidential Palace
SantiagoSantiago
Santiago

Men (and one solitary woman!) playing chess in the Plaza.


27th May 2009

Catching up.....
Hi! As you've got behind a bit with your updates I have to admit I had gotten a bit behind reading them so I think I've just read about the last 10. It sounds like you're having a great time still and I look forward to the next instalment! You'll be surprised to know that not much changes here....Toni, Jez, Si and I were out at the weekend. There's a new bar in town, Groove, a more spacious reflex. Anyhow, I'm at work so best get going. Take care of yourself. Nicola

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb