Lets talk about mullets...


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Ñuñoa
April 1st 2010
Published: April 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well I should probably start by apologizing to the great masses that I'm sure were about to riot about the lack of a recent blog post. And I am currently packing for my Easter Break trip to Mendoza, Argentina, so this will have to be quick.

We have made some observations recently that I feel might be blog worthy, the first being the prevalence of mullets I have seen walking around in downtown Santiago. I realize that up until recently I was in no position to talk about bad hair, but lets be honest, if anybody who is reading this thinks I had a bad haircut after seeing three guys walking in front of you with deadlocked mullets, you seriously need to re-evaluate your standards. I also saw a man the other day with a shaved head, except for the five inch long mullet growing out the back. Its for this exact reason that I have decided to cut my own hair... I'm terrified to go into a barbershop and have them mistake whatever it is I say for "Good day sir, I would love to look like a complete idiot from 1984, can you make that happen?"

The other observation I have been noticing concerns the food. Contrary to popular belief, all food south of the border is not spicy, and in Chile ketchup seems to be considered hot sauce. Also there doesn't appear to be any vegetables in the country. Now I could be wrong about this, and it could just be that I am eating in my house every day, but other than carrots and onions I haven't seen anything green in a while (avocado excluded). Never thought I'd see the day I would be longing for some broccoli. Not that I'm complaining about the food, it just wasn't really what i expected. Last night for dinner we had a delicious fresh salmon fillet, caramelized onions, a salad (consisting of tomato and avocado) and rice and potatoes. But we had to make plans to go to a Mexican or Cuban restaurant sometime in the near future to satisfy the craving for something spicy.

I will try to write again soon after my Mendoza trip, and I will be back in time on Sunday to talk with all you Dittgens who will be over for Easter at our house via skype.

Happy Easter!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb