Three months down.


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » O Higgins » Rancagua
August 25th 2009
Published: August 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Holy crap. Three months down. Three to go. Time has literally flown by, leaving me to wonder how I have spent the past three months. It's safe to say that I have been busy, although I am hard pressed to tell you exactly how. Since I last wrote, we have traveled some more, learning more and more about this incredible country I have come to call home. Two weeks ago I went to Valparaiso with Kate, Cami, and Teather, one of the new four month volunteers. She is living in a town about an hour south of Rancagua, called San Fernando.

So we all went to Valpo for the weekend, despite the fact that it was pouring down rain all throughout the middle of Chile. Valpo is amazing. It reminded me a lot of San Francisco, in that it is built on a series of hills, or cerros, and the houses are all painted vibrant, wonderful colors. The walls are all plastered with murals, some of which are so intricate one is hard pressed to imagine how someone could paint it at all, let alone with a can of spray paint. We spent the weekend roaming around the streets of Valpo, exploring the hills and valleys, trying to stay out of the rain. On Saturday we went to La Sebastiana, Pablo Neruda's home in Valpo. His homes are so incredible. The detail is really amazing. You can see the time that went into deciding even the smallest detail, from the color of the walls to the amazing detail of the bar. The living room opens right out into this breathtaking view of the port, out over the ocean. His favorite chair is still sitting in the living room right by the huge floor to ceiling windows, and you can even see the green ink stains on it from the pens that he always wrote with.

After Valpo, it was back to school for another week. I still adore my students, and having had this experience of being a semi-teacher, I have a new found respect for, and feel immense gratitude towards all of my former teachers. The amount of work that goes into being a teacher, and the level of dedication it takes to be a good teacher never ceases to amaze me. My host mom gets to school around 7.45 every morning, and usually isn't home until after 5 or 6, sometimes not arriving until after 10 pm. My students make me laugh every day. I really can't get through a single class period without laughing so hard i feel tears in my eyes. I also can't walk through the school without at least one student shouting, "Miss, I love you!" at me. That's about the only English they know. I'm only sort of kidding. I do feel like I have made progress with my kids. They are still really reluctant to talk though. They can write, and when I ask them questions they usually understand me, but they are still shy about speaking. Some classes its like pulling teeth, trying to get people to participate. But there are always those few that are so excited, I have to tell them to stop talking to give other people a chance.

Last weekend we went back to Santiago for a meeting with the CIEE people. They put us up in this awesome hostel, and took us wine tasting, so thank you CIEE. We went to one of the oldest vineyards in Chile, started by the Concha y Toro family. They are famous for their cheap wine called "Casillero del Diablo", or the Devil's Cellar, which we have drank copious amounts of. That's one of the many wonderful things about Chile, even the cheap wine is way better than cheap wine in the States. There is no 2-buck Chuck equivalent here.

This week is my school's anniversary, which is apparently a HUGE deal here in Chile, so we don't have class all week. Honestly. Today the kids were just wandering around, there was a DJ on the basketball court, and some kids were painting the walls. Tomorrow the activities start, so I will be sure to send updates about what a school anniversary entails. All I really know is that there is a big Gala dance thing on Friday, which all my students have invited me to, so I will be going to that, and making Kate and Cami come with me.

Things are still going amazingly well. I can't quite believe that I have been here for three months now. Time truly does fly by, and I can't imagine leaving in only three more months. When I was getting ready to leave the States back in May, six months like an insanely long time, but now that I am halfway done I wish I had more time. I can't believe that summer is almost over for all you back home, and that some are heading back to school soon. Our winter is coming to an end, thank goodness, and it will soon be warming up here. Sending all my love back to the States.

Advertisement



28th August 2009

Dear Laure., You certainly seem enthuiastic and enjoying the experience immensely. It sounds like lots of fun, teaching and getting to see the country and being able to learn more about the customs. It is wonderfuly that you were selected to do this and I know the students do love you and are thrilled to have you as a teacher. The next three months will probably seem faster that the first three. Enjoy it all and look forward to returning home. Love you, Grandmother

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb