Trekking


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Magallanes » Torres del Paine
March 31st 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I have just spent 19 days trekking in the Torres del Paine national park. It was just the most fantastic place and there is no way to describe it in a way that gives it full justice so just check out the pictures.





Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

View of the park from the planeView of the park from the plane
View of the park from the plane

Glacier Grey is just out of sight on the right then the Valle Frances is the dark area on the right with Los Cuernos at the lake end on the left hand valley side. You can also see the Torres which are lighter brown just to the left of centre before the Valle del silencio which is the big dark area curling into the middle from the left!
View from just outside the parkView from just outside the park
View from just outside the park

This view is from the lake that you can see in the arial photo, with the Cuernos just in the clouds on the left and the Torres peeking out on the right of them.
The first view of Glacier grey The first view of Glacier grey
The first view of Glacier grey

This was our first glimpse of the spectacular Glacier. I walked with the 2 American girls in this picture for the first week. Laura is on the right and Stephanie in the middle.
Our first campOur first camp
Our first camp

There first nights camping on the shores of Lago Grey
Great view at the top!Great view at the top!
Great view at the top!

There was supposed to be a huge natural amphitheater here, anyone know where it went??
The first footprints in the snowThe first footprints in the snow
The first footprints in the snow

Climbing the Valle del silencio on all my own. Yes it was quiet.
Dead end!Dead end!
Dead end!

How big is that smile on my face! I did scare myself a bit by wondering if the Pumas got up this far.
Laundry day at Refugio ChillenoLaundry day at Refugio Chilleno
Laundry day at Refugio Chilleno

The staff here were really nice, stayed a few days waiting for good weather so I could see the famous Torres. Some one nicked one of my socks!
The completion of "the W"The completion of "the W"
The completion of "the W"

Chilling out on the evening sun at the Camping De Las Torres
View of Glaciar Grey from the passView of Glaciar Grey from the pass
View of Glaciar Grey from the pass

This thing just goes on and on for ever


4th April 2007

Any More Ice shots then?
Well if you were selling scenery you have done it for me. Wondering what to do with my airmiles... So do you have any more glacier shots... or aspellcheckerr Next installment please
6th April 2007

Wow
Hi Lisa Your photos of the Torres Del Paine are amazing, you are so brave!! I am in awe. Love Ruth x
12th April 2007

can I come with my own tent
I learned my ABC's, can I come camping with you now?

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 19; qc: 87; dbt: 0.1037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb