Tierra del Fuego


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Magallanes » Punta Arenas
March 2nd 2014
Published: March 3rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

I had originally planned to take it easy this morning because I had so much time until my flight, but I found I just couldn't do that. Instead I thought up a scheme to go see a museum that I had read about that is located west of the town center. The airport is also west of town and I calculated that I had enough time to make it if I used taxis. It worked out just about as I had planned and I got to see the Museum of Memory and Human Rights. Its theme is the coup of 1973 that put General Pinochet in power and the human rights violations that occurred under his regime. I remember this event because the coup was a source of outrage at the University of Michigan where I was a sophomore at the time. The museum presents the Pinochet years as one human rights violation after another and unfortunately the effect is to leave the visitor numb rather than enlightened or outraged. I returned to the airport and then flew to Punta Arenas in the south of Chile. It was another rather long flight and this time I had to fly coach class because there was no business class. Actually it worked put well because although I had a middle seat, the people on either side were English-speaking, pleasant, and skinny. I took a photo out the window that shows a glacier on the side of a mountain peak. I am now ensconced in the hotel and my next step is to see if the Academy Awards are broadcast in Punta Arenas. I will let you know tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.314s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb