The End Of The World Is Nigh


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Magallanes » Punta Arenas
February 11th 2010
Published: February 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, from Punta Arenas it is. You can see Tierra Del Fuego from there.

After nearly smuggling cheese into Chile, and having my cheek pinched by the bus conductor as if I was six years old, I arrived in Punta Arenas (Sandy Point) very sandy, so that was appropriate. Also it was chilly, and I was in Chile. I found the town to be rather pretty - the buildings were all painted different colours and there were wide green boulevards in some of the streets. I could not get the hang of Chilean money at all - we didn´t get as far as 800 times tables at school. My hostel was small and quite nice but lacking something atmosphere-wise. However, I did meet a lovely couple who were booked on the Navimag for the same trip as me.

There were some Germans and Swiss Germans in my hostel and again I was getting confused because in both languages you can start a sentence with "Es..."

The cemetery in Punta Arenas is quite splendid. I prefer it to Recoleta as it´s more colourful and there are more flowers. There are lot of English, Scottish and Croatian names in the cemetery.

Something odd happened in Punta Arenas. I was wondering around the museum, remarking to myself how awful the English translations were and wondering how one might go about offering to re do them without insulting anyone and without being able to speak Spanish that well. Then I turned a corner and a man in a white coat and glasses (when I told the story later, this bit made me wonder if I´d imagined it - I hadn´t been feeling that well that day) asked me if I spoke English and if I´d noticed any mistakes in the translations. Anyway, we swapped contact information and now I think I´ve got myself a job! They´re not paying me but they´ll give me a letter of recommedation.



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Punta Arenas (16)Punta Arenas (16)
Punta Arenas (16)

This is the Unknown Indian.
Punta Arenas (51)Punta Arenas (51)
Punta Arenas (51)

I don´t think the old man who took this had heard of cameras without viewfinders.
Punta Arenas (53)Punta Arenas (53)
Punta Arenas (53)

Look at the teacup chimney pot!
Punta Arenas (54)Punta Arenas (54)
Punta Arenas (54)

Tons of stray dogs in Chile.


5th March 2010

green bushes
What very neat bushes they have there. The gardener must be very busy.

Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb