Puenta Arenas, Chile


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Magallanes » Punta Arenas
December 27th 2007
Published: December 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Strangely it was great biding my daughter goodbye at Cape Town airport. She let me know that she actually enjoys me doing these wild expeditions. The ultimate thumbs up from my little 'boss'.

After three long flights and 24 hours I have arrived at Puenta Arenas in the southern tip of Chile where I will be meeting up with the company organising the flights and logistics onto Antartica. The plan is to fly out of here (weather dependent) on the 29th Dec 2007 in a Russian Ilyshin aircraft to a temporary base on Antartica called Patriot hills. From there we will arrange equipment and then fly in a smaller aircraft, a Twin Otter, to the last degree (within approximately 120 km) from the South Pole afterwhich it is sled and cross country skiing to the Pole.

Ciao for now
Ricky

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb