Torres del Paine


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Magallanes » Puerto Natales
January 4th 2009
Published: January 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After spending New Year's Eve and New Year's day at Puerto Natales it was time to plan my trek to Torres del Paine. I didn't like the idea of going on my own and for a moment I considered going on a day tour, where you sit confortably on the bus looking at the beautiful landscape. I had even made a reservation but in the end I couldn't do it. That tour is exactly the type of thing that I hate.

The lovely Swill guys at my hostel were going on the trek and they accepted to take me on board. So we rented our tent, did all our shopping and set off for our big adventure. But unfortunately our adventure was short lived. It had been raining consistently the whole time we were there and after one day of trekking and a night in the tent we threw in the towel and headed back to Puerto Natales. Although I do not regret my decision, I can't help but feel a little disappointed not to have seen what is supposed to be the nicest place in Patagonia. Maybe one day I will go back with better equipment and some more mental and physical preparation.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb