Puerto Natales - The big bike ride!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Magallanes » Puerto Natales
March 10th 2007
Published: March 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Last night we arrived in Puerto Natales only to find out that my plans had not taken into account enough days to do the famous W trek in Torres del Paine. In a way, I must admit it is not a big disappointment. I do not think I have the right company to do the trek. Of course I could join some organised group... but may be another time.

So today, after sorting out some stuff in town, we rented mountain bikes and went to see Cueva del Milodon, a massive cave, which was formed by a lake and glacier several years ago. Its name Milodon comes from some strange big animal that was discovered to have lived there.

Cueva del Milodon is composed of three caves and a rock formation known as the Silla del Diablo (Devil's Seat). The main cave is 150 meters above sea level, and it measures 30 meters high, 80 meters long and 200 meters deep.

It was quite interesting and not like any cave I have ever seen before. One day, I hope to be able to upload the photos so you can see how I was playing with the Milodon!

In total, we did about 50km or may be a touch more. The bike was shit - it would not change gears so I had to ride on 1 and then switch between 3-4. I would have been going much faster at the flat bits if I could go on 2. Nevermind.

Anyway, as I was returning to Puerto Natales I thought "Thank God and mostly Shreepa and Rebecca and their great spin classes (at my beloved gym at WestLB) not only for ensuring I was fit to do today's bike ride but that I found it rather easy (most of the time, anyway). Admittedly, I can already feel twinges of pain here and there... but tomorrow will be worse that is for sure! It doesn't really mater anyway because I love this kind of pain! Masochist, I know... 😊

We had lunch at the massive restaurant with great panoramic views of the area. Initially, we had more staff per head serving us, but later other customers came in. This was my first meal in Chile. I had grilled salmon and some salad (tomatos and letuce). Like in Argentina and Brazil, the portions remain massive. But this time, I took the remainder of my salmon home with me and made a yammy sandwich for dinner. It tasted much better than whilst having it at the restaurant.

Talal and I had yet another mini "ehr... ehr" at the beginning of the bike ride. I do wonder whether to go on travelling by myself.

Anyway, not much more to report. Cherio!


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Ballerina... Ballerina...
Ballerina...

It was never going to work out, mom!


Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 13; qc: 83; dbt: 0.0754s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb